mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:28 pm

Is this new firmware for the mate 3 suppose to be uploaded to the device in a special way? As when I upgraded. Did the usual step and formated the sd card in fat32 and copied the files for the update to the card. Then plugged into the Mate 3 switched to update menu. All went well then tried to connect through optictsre says device connected but try to open device window and stuck saying loading profile. Then tried connect through wattplot for modbus failed. Then tried local web interface and got no display for anything as in numbers output. Only thing spitting out data is the udp stream.

User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:28 pm

Dont want to be rude but this update seems to be going backwards not fowards. As previouse versions wouldn't display the local web like this one. Hope local web wasn't built on a beta version of java.

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by David LeBow » Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:25 am

Hi Christopher,

We've had positive upgrade reports elsewhere, so I'd be interested in hearing more about your situation.

Could you please confirm that both processors have updated to 3.15.3?

It's possible that your MATE may have had an issue flashing both processors to the new version. To verify on the MATE 3 navigate to:
Press Lock
Select "System"
Select "Settings"
Select "Firmware Versions"
The firmware version for the MATE 3 and the ETHERNET processor, which are the first two fields, should both say 003.015.003. If they do not please attempt to reflash the firmware again by following the instructions in this video: https://youtu.be/tG6oNwlNVNE.

Also, please verify that the OPTICSre status on the PORT screen of the MATE 3 indicates that it is "Connected". 

Thanks,

David
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by David LeBow » Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:39 am

Looking at your Optics site... it seems as if your Mate3 is upgraded, connected and reporting. Could you update me on the status?

If there are problems with the Mate3's web page(s), could you maybe upload a picture so that we can see what you're seeing?

Many thanks,

David
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:02 pm

I went back to the 3.15.1 after 20 mins no connectivity

User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:42 pm

Reloaded again now connects to opticsre but not whattplot
Attachments
mode screen.PNG
mate 3 no bar display.PNG
firmware screen.PNG

User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:46 pm

the please wait screen never goes away on each page of the mate. Opticere is connected
Attachments
Capture.PNG
setup screen.PNG

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by David LeBow » Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:48 pm

Hi Christopher,

I can't really say much about WattPlott, per se. This makes me a little anxious, however: "the please wait screen never goes away on each page of the mate."

Are you talking about the Mate3's in-built display? The web pages served up by the Mate3? Or a WattPlot page?

Thanks,

David
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:47 am

David please wait loading is on the mate 3 local web. Also in opticsre the Aux control have gone :roll:
Attachments
Opticsre.png

User avatar
intellact
Forum Czar
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:20 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by intellact » Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:57 pm

David LeBow wrote:I can't really say much about WattPlott, per se. This makes me a little anxious, however: "the please wait screen never goes away on each page of the mate."

Are you talking about the Mate3's in-built display? The web pages served up by the Mate3? Or a WattPlot page?
If I may make a suggestion here...

Is WattPlot perfect? 8-[ No, not at all.
And with new features being added all the time, and the huge diversity of system configurations out there, there are always small tweaks to be made.

HOWEVER...

Over a decade of experience shows us that WattPlot tends to find OutBack issues faster than anything else out there. :wink: It is extremely persnicketty and uses just about every nuanced function possible.

SO...

It seems to me that OutBack Engineering would be well advised to USE the free WattPlot licenses that their company already has to test their new releases. A failure might be our problem, but, uh, chances are... [-X If we are up and running at hundreds of sites, the next release of OutBack firmware should at least work equally well with what is out there! (In this case, Chris rolled back to 3.15.1 and everything worked again.)

Some folks at OutBack may consider WattPlot a competing product to OpticsRE, but most of our clients don't really see it that way. Besides, what's wrong with using a free copy of a 'competing product' to test your firmware?

If OutBack needs new activations for any reason, they only have to ask. :smile:

Just sayin'...
Andrew Welch, creator of WattPlot

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by David LeBow » Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:52 am

Thanks, Andrew. I'll pass along your recommendation to Tech Support. It's not so much a "not invented here" or "not our product" issue as it is a "how do we find time to add that as well" kind of thing.

Have you had a chance to download and look at the 3.15.3 release? I'd be happy to funnel your feedback into the Mate3 engineering team.
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by David LeBow » Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:28 am

Bonus note: the problem with the "disappearing Aux controls" was the result of an incorrect configuration file import into OpticsRE. The issue was isolated and fixed Friday evening.
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
intellact
Forum Czar
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:20 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by intellact » Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:06 pm

David LeBow wrote:Thanks, Andrew. I'll pass along your recommendation to Tech Support. It's not so much a "not invented here" or "not our product" issue as it is a "how do we find time to add that as well" kind of thing.
I well understand that. I would hope that if Tech Support is doing your pre-release firmware testing, then using a WattPlot tool as part of that regimen should be a time-saver - especially a dead-simple app like WattPlot NetMATE that just opens up any OutBack data stream as a TCP Server, with no complicated display or features. The NetMATE display would just be Green if the link is working, Yellow or Red if not.

In the past, OutBack Tech support staff have told us that other WattPlot tools can be real time-savers on support issues too. If you can get a client to send their CSV logs from a MATE3 and can then instantly call up a full plot of the activity on each device in the system (with drill-down capability), that's a pretty powerful problem-solving tool! :wink:
David LeBow wrote:Have you had a chance to download and look at the 3.15.3 release? I'd be happy to funnel your feedback into the Mate3 engineering team.
Okay, so now it's my turn to plead "how do I find the time?". 8-[ The Christmas season is a total zoo for Official Town Criers (one of my many other hats). I will give it a trial very soon.
Andrew Welch, creator of WattPlot

bluespur
Forum Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:32 pm
My RE system: VFX3024x2
Flexmax60x2
3000W total solar, 135w panel array and 220w panel array
Mate3
12xHawker Perfect Plus 8PZS120 FLA batteries
Own built generator Kubota D600 engine, 7.5Kw gen head

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by bluespur » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:14 pm

After updating to 3.15.003 I too get the "Please wait while loading configuration message' in the top bar of the screen , and apparently limited displays?

User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:58 pm

Thank God I am not the only one as support made me feel so. If your using internet explorer try using compatibility mode as displays properly some sort. :shock: Would love to hear from others as I rolled back

bluespur
Forum Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:32 pm
My RE system: VFX3024x2
Flexmax60x2
3000W total solar, 135w panel array and 220w panel array
Mate3
12xHawker Perfect Plus 8PZS120 FLA batteries
Own built generator Kubota D600 engine, 7.5Kw gen head

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by bluespur » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:41 pm

Thanks for the tip Chris, compatability mode makes a difference (@ IE 11), but its still far from perfect with garbled formats, and no go at all in Chrome, makes me wonder just how robustly/professionally this was tested, sure doesn't seem to have been done properly imho.

User avatar
Chrisserrant
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 5:04 am
My RE system: Flexware 500 VFX3524 5 FM80's 30 evegreen 220 1370 AH Forklift Battery Generac 16KW Gen MAte 3
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by Chrisserrant » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:07 pm

No worries. As yes couldn't get it to show properly in any other web browser. Also I use wattplot for logging locally on my own network to a pc which is a great program and fantastic support from the developer Andrew. As was running a Mate 2 for years without any issues like the mate 3 has presented that I recently upgraded to. :oops: :evil:

bluespur
Forum Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:32 pm
My RE system: VFX3024x2
Flexmax60x2
3000W total solar, 135w panel array and 220w panel array
Mate3
12xHawker Perfect Plus 8PZS120 FLA batteries
Own built generator Kubota D600 engine, 7.5Kw gen head

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by bluespur » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:59 am

So are there only 3 of us negatively impacted by the firmware upgrade (see other thread re OpticeRE not connecting)?
Or have only 3 of us been brave enough to suffer the upgrade?

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by David LeBow » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:14 pm

Hi Bluespur,

We've seen roughly 50 systems upgraded to 3.15.3.

In all of the cases of issues we have seen reported, we have re-tested here and have not been able to reproduce the problem. I'd be interested to hear more about your configuration so that we can track down the problems you're seeing.

Some helpful tidbits:
* What's the operating system where you're browsing to the mate?
* What browser are you using? Which version?

In looking at it myself (I'm not on the Mate3 team, but have an URL to look at its web pages), I do notice that it seems to take somewhat of a long time (e.g. sometimes over 15 seconds) for the pages to populate fully. Could it be that that's what you're experiencing?

We've tested it here in IE, Chrome and Firefox and can't seem to reproduce those issues here, so any other tips you could give me about your configuration might help.

Thanks - and sorry for any inconvenience.

David
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

steve@segnet.com
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Grantham, NH

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by steve@segnet.com » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:08 pm

This is not a browser issue, or the mate3 just being slow to respond... the internal webserver and ftp server on the Mate3 running 3.15.003 stops running after a short period of time (connection refused on port 21 and 80). It also stops talking to opticsre.

I've had to back off 3.15.003 and revert to 3.15.001

bluespur
Forum Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:32 pm
My RE system: VFX3024x2
Flexmax60x2
3000W total solar, 135w panel array and 220w panel array
Mate3
12xHawker Perfect Plus 8PZS120 FLA batteries
Own built generator Kubota D600 engine, 7.5Kw gen head

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by bluespur » Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:19 pm

Hi David,
Browser is both Chrome and IE, ujnder windows in both cases, Chrome gets the problem from both within the corporate environment I normally access from, and from my home computer.
Chrome level in both cases is Version 54.0.2840.99 m (64-bit), and unfortuantely doesnt appear to have a 'compatability mode setting'
IE is 11.0.9600.188449
I have reloaded 3.15.003 3 x now, the problem still persists, both the ethernet and main processor are reporting the desired levels.
Problem is also apparent using my wifes' laptop, with firefox.
Waiting for more than 1 mintue does not resolve the problem
The only thing that seems to have had any impact was changing the IE setting to display the mate3 web site in compatability mode.
Cheers
Garth

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by David LeBow » Fri Dec 09, 2016 3:41 pm

bluespur wrote:Chrome gets the problem from both within the corporate environment I normally access from, and from my home computer.
Does that mean that your Mate3 is accessible from the outside world? If so, could you PM me the IP address/URL so that we could have a look?
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by sodamo » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:48 pm

Anxious to see any positive reports on this upgrade, then I can.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by larrywa » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:32 pm

Just upgraded to v3.015.003.
First time I heard any news from OpticsRE when I logged in and noticed the change at the top of the webpage.

All went well, at first glance (30minutes). Clock was an hour ahead but DST may not have been working before the upgrade. I set my time zone to UTC -4 instead of -5 to compensate and DST changed back and I didn't reset it.
or
DST handling was corrected in this version?

Windows 10 x 64, Running IE 11.447.14393.0, Java v8, update 111 (32 bit version)
OpticsRE loaded fine and immediately showed the correct time and current data instead of the stale data from the last top-of the hour. - Fixed for me.
Local java webpage loaded and looks good - No change noticed

Will test on Android chrome, and win 7 x32, and report back here, later

bluespur
Forum Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:32 pm
My RE system: VFX3024x2
Flexmax60x2
3000W total solar, 135w panel array and 220w panel array
Mate3
12xHawker Perfect Plus 8PZS120 FLA batteries
Own built generator Kubota D600 engine, 7.5Kw gen head

Re: mate 3 firmware 3.15.003

Post by bluespur » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:08 pm

Hi David,
Unfortunately no, my mate3 is not accessible from the real world, with no ability to secure the login that would seem to me to be folly.
Just tried android chrome, same issue, please wait while loading configuration.
Cheers
Garth

Post Reply