MX60 overheating? malfuntioning?

Discussion about the MX60 Charge Controller

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

MX60 overheating? malfuntioning?

Postby Brien near Paskenta on Sun Jun 11, 2017 12:00 pm

Hello everyone,

As a newbie here, I appreciate all the support given. I've searched many threads but haven't found what I'm looking for, so here goes. I hope this turns out to be a no-brainer!

I installed my own off-grid system back in 2004. The original MX60 was replaced by Outback in 2005 and the fan was replaced early on as well. That 2nd fan on the 2nd CC lasted a few years, but I think we are going on 3+ years now without the fan working. I've assumed responsibility for this because my install was in a barn - a pretty dusty situation. I figured the dust killed it. But I've recently built a floor and walls around the electrical hardware to greatly reduce the dust and I have just ordered a new fan and will see if that helps the problem, which is:

In MPPT bulk mode, even though there is plenty of sun on the PVs, the MX60 is limiting the number of watts to around 150-350. If I do a restart or a force Bulk, for example, like I just did a few minutes ago, it quickly climbed up to about 1300 watts.