6 FM60 on one buss bar AMP overload?

Discussion about the MX60 Charge Controller

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
Beechigby
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 7:53 pm

6 FM60 on one buss bar AMP overload?

Post by Beechigby » Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:07 pm

Typicially, there is a DC Pos buss with multipule positions for up to #6 wire and a few positions for larger (#2?) wire. I have 6 FM60 outputs going from the PV CC ouptut breaker directly to the bat buss that has a single 175A breaker and 2, 4/0 bat outputs. I need to add another 175A breaker for a 2nd GVFX3648 inverter (Classic Stack), so i need to move some or all of the CC output wires.
Does the STD PV pos buss bar have an amp limit (6FM60 x 60 Amp = 360Amp possible)?
of course, if that is within limits, I still need to use 3, #4 (very short, 120A max each) to go from buss to bat buss
Each CC has 2475watts of PV

pss
Forum Czar
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system: 8330 watts in three strings, Flexmax 60 x 3, Radian 8048A, GSLC load center, Mate 3S, Hub 10.3, FN-DC and 900 Amp, 48V Trojan T105-RE battery bank.

Re: 6 FM60 on one buss bar AMP overload?

Post by pss » Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:48 pm

This ought to solve your problem. It works great for me. Search for it on amazon.com.

Wall Mounted .25" x 2" x 10" Copper Ground Bar Kit- SCGB-1KT

I use one for the positive and one for the negative.

Post Reply