Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Discussion about the OutBack Mate Remote

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby grenadapalace on Tue Oct 02, 2018 6:52 am

Hi,

Mate3s network stops working.

i swapped over from a Mate3 to a Mate3s to try and stop this happening, but it still happens...

When the internet goes down (as it does this time of year in the Caribbean - bad weather and all) the Mate3s stops working (to be exact, the network part of it stops working). I am a bit bugged over this, I bought the Mate3S with hopes that this had been fixed. Is there no way to rectify this issue? Is it that the Mate3s attempts so many times to reconnect to the internet, and if it can't, it times out and then halts the network interface?

At least with the optics reboot very 24 hours it does come back on, but its not right. Can it be fixed in a future FW upgrade, honestly?

Dan
grenadapalace
Forum Whiz
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:01 am
Location: Grenada West Indies
My RE system: 4x VFXR3048E, 4x FM80, Mate 3, Flexnet, HUB10, 4x Shunts

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby Gwendoly Espe on Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:52 am

The MATE3/MATE3s uses the internet to send its data to OpticsRE. If the internet source is down, I would not expect the MATE to connect as there is nothing to connect to. Is this what you're saying is happening?
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineer


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com
User avatar
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineering
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:04 am

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby grenadapalace on Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:13 am

Dear Gwendoly,


From what I can gather: -

* When the Mate3s cannot handshake with your optics main server database, the network interface stops working.

* When it stops, I cannot even use the Mate3s direct LAN IP address to see data direct with its in-built web server, all LAN/WAN functions stop.

* The Mate3s does continue to function though, as I can still use the buttons on the unit itself, to move through functions/change values/etc.

I was asking if this is due to a programmed time out (after several failed attempts for this Mate/Optics handshake to happen, for example). If so, why is the unit not supplied with the 'auto reboot optics' section enabled and set to - say - 12 hours? (all domestic internet service providers, at some point, go down due to maintenance, etc).


Take care

Dan
grenadapalace
Forum Whiz
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:01 am
Location: Grenada West Indies
My RE system: 4x VFXR3048E, 4x FM80, Mate 3, Flexnet, HUB10, 4x Shunts

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby Gwendoly Espe on Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:01 am

Hello Dan,

I will get this to right team to help you.

Thank you,
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineer


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com
User avatar
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineering
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:04 am

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby Gwendoly Espe on Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:51 am

Hello Dan,

I got word from product management that the next firmware update that is due late December / Early January will fix this issue.

Thank you,
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineer


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com
User avatar
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineering
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:04 am

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby grenadapalace on Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:39 am

Dear Gwendoly,


Wonderful news.

Cheers for coming back so fast too...

Take care


Dan
grenadapalace
Forum Whiz
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:01 am
Location: Grenada West Indies
My RE system: 4x VFXR3048E, 4x FM80, Mate 3, Flexnet, HUB10, 4x Shunts

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby kayak1 on Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:46 am

Dan,
To me it doesn't look like OutBack has released a new version to the public:
http://outbackpower.com/resources/techn ... re-updates

Did they get you a new version to test out? I am interested to see if this bug has been fixed yet.

Thanks -Jason
kayak1
Forum Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:27 am

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby grenadapalace on Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:54 am

Jason,

Not to me yet either. There is also talk of new inverter firmware.

I have set mine to auto reboot and its happy for now, I do loose connection now and again but regain after the auto reboot...

Take care

Dan
grenadapalace
Forum Whiz
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:01 am
Location: Grenada West Indies
My RE system: 4x VFXR3048E, 4x FM80, Mate 3, Flexnet, HUB10, 4x Shunts

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby Jeff Bosch on Wed Mar 20, 2019 1:11 pm

The Mate3 and Mate3s had a bug where the Ethernet processor would stop communicating if the data link were active but the Internet connection was lost. Version 3.19.0 (Mate3) and 1.4.1 (Mate3s) have this fix, among other connectivity and calibration fixes. In about a month we'll release 3.19.1 and 1.4.2, which also include a redesigned replay feature which helps preserve your data during connectivity outages. Although these fixes may not resolve all connectivity problems out there in the wild, they have significantly improved connectivity, and we are continually striving to improve all features.

Note that we also have a thread for Mate3/Mate3s. I urge posting future Mate3/Mate3s questions there instead of here.
Jeff Bosch
Senior Software Engineer
OutBack Power Technologies
User avatar
Jeff Bosch
OutBack Engineering
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 12:06 pm
Location: Arlington, WA USA

Re: Mate3s network stops when internet goes down

Postby grenadapalace on Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:04 pm

Jason,

With the auto reboot running on the Mate3s, I have had no problems, it been running just fine. It will be good to try the new FW though.

Point taken about the correct thread for these messages, so will post further points to this.

Take care

Dan
grenadapalace
Forum Whiz
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:01 am
Location: Grenada West Indies
My RE system: 4x VFXR3048E, 4x FM80, Mate 3, Flexnet, HUB10, 4x Shunts


Return to Mate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests