Initial set-up

Website & Forum Discussions
Check here for our Welcome Message

Moderators: administrator, OutBack Moderator Team

Initial set-up

Postby Grizzly on Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:54 am

Okay - I'm a newbie - just got my Outback System and have it all wired but haven't put the power to it yet. I have read and re-read instructions and am a bit overwhelmed. I knew having a solar system would require periodic maintenance and monitoring, but this really is more than I expected. I have the FLEXpower One with Flexnet Monitor and GFDI - 48 volt system. The installation manual indicates that one must set the basic parameters for the system to operate correctly. At this point I am worried about even hooking up the batteries and PV because I am not sure what may be already set up by default at the factory and what I MUST set up myself so as not to have the system malfunction. And I have to admit I don't use all the functions on my cell phone - it just seems more hassle then it is worth. Setting this system up reminds me of that - press hot key to get here - press soft key to enter here. Damn - looks to me like a person would need a semester of computer training to understand this system well. I am worried I could short the whole damned thing out and destroy my entire investment. Does outback have a Powerpoint on-line or other training video for dummies? It would be helpful for us newbie ignorant starters. Oh by the way - I have been living without electricity for 11 years. Live in remote mountain location and grid was just not a reasonable option. I don't think I will know how to act with electricity. It has been so long - I forgot what it is like being able to switch a switch and amazingly there is light. :smile:
Grizzly

My RE system: FLEXpower ONE VFX3648 - FLEXnet DC monitor and GFDI - FLEXmax 80 Charge Controller. - 8 - 6 volt Trojan 225ah.

Re: Initial set-up

Postby tallgirl on Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:17 pm