Auto Gen start inconsistantly starts and doesnt starts

Website & Forum Discussions
Check here for our Welcome Message

Moderators: administrator, OutBack Moderator Team

Auto Gen start inconsistantly starts and doesnt starts

Postby otis on Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:05 am

Hi everyone, First of all, I know nothing! I'm a Gen contractor in Colo. and this is my first solar house. 2000 watts of panals (almost), 24 agm batts, brand spankin new Winco 12 k gen. Great sun and exposure. The system seems to work properly for a few days, the generator starts with the "load start" function, the soc% is set at 50% to 80%, the low voltage 2 min at 47.6, 2 hr. at 48 and 24 at 48.4. The auto start works properly with the load start. The low voltage start works if I have just "rebooted" the mate, however after a few days the low voltage start doesn't work. I'm aware of the poceedure that disables the auto start, when the gen is manually started and then stopped and then put back to auto function, but even with the gen not started man the timers are not activated when the voltage goes low. Anyone have this similar problem? I looked for a smiley face that would accurately describe me but found nothing. The head banger was close! Thanks, Otis
otis

My RE system: 3 - pv arrays each consisting of 5 120 watt panal
1 - 48volt inverter
60 amp charge controller
1 mate

Re: Auto Gen start inconsistantly starts and doesnt starts

Postby Kent Osterberg on Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:32 am

You are not alone with this type of problem.
Is your generator being controlled by the relay in the FNDC? I've resolved similar problems for customers by using a relay with the FX Aux port rather than the relay in the FNDC.

Is the system in a heated area or a cold area? The FNDC is only spec'd for operation down to 0°C. In Colorado you might be out of the FNDC operating range in an unheated area. My customers were in unheated areas but problems started before really cold weather hit.