installing pspv in the roof

Discussion about the Power System PV Combiner (PSPV)

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

alik
Forum Whiz

installing pspv in the roof

Post by alik » Tue May 02, 2006 3:32 pm

can i install the pspv in the roof without any protection.is it waterproof. :shock:

Kent Osterberg
Forum Emperor
My RE system: SMA Sunny Boy 2500 with eight Mobil Solar Ra 180 modules

Post by Kent Osterberg » Tue May 02, 2006 8:30 pm

The PSPV is not waterproof. It is NEMA 3R rated for outdoor use (that means rain tolerant) for roofs with pitch greater than 4:12. If mounted directly to the roof, I'd recommend a couple short pieces of strunt under it to facilitate drainage.

pejardine
Forum Member

Installation on Roof

Post by pejardine » Sun Nov 18, 2007 11:27 am

If I install the PSPV on the roof, do I have to worry about snow entering the box and causing problems? I have a 25 degree roof and I live in Colorado.
Thanks.

crewzer
Forum Emperor

Post by crewzer » Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:25 pm

The OutBack PSPV combiner box has a Type 3R NEMA rating for slopes as gentle as 3-in-12, or about 14 degrees. HereÔÇÖs the NEMA definition of a Type 3R enclosure:
Enclosures are intended for outdoor use primarily to provide a degree of protection against falling rain and sleet; undamaged by the formation of ice on the enclosure.
The UL definition is similar. The CSA definition adds ÔÇ£snowÔÇØ to the ÔÇ£degree of protectionÔÇØ list.

HTH,
Jim / crewzer
090805 System Configuration: 966 W STC (849 W CEC PTC) 48V PV array, FM80, 24V x 400 Ah AGM battery bank, FX2524T w/ BTS, Hub-4 & Mate; Link-10 w/ BTS, & E-Panel.

SteveH
Forum Guru

Post by SteveH » Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:18 pm