Passwords

True Hybrid Energy System
Post Reply
mhspohr
Forum Whiz
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:56 am
My RE system: 6.6 kW SolarWorld/Enphase and 2.6 kW Sunpower/SMA
Skybox with 10 kWh SLA (used for power outage backup only)
Tesla 2015 Model S 85D charged from the sun.

Passwords

Post by mhspohr » Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:21 am

Just went through a hassle getting passwords for my system. They're not in any of the documentation that I could find for some reason and OB support tells me they have been very busy so less than responsive.
I thought I'd post these here to help anybody setting up a system.
The default password for setup is 1234 (one person told me it's 12345 but I don't think that's correct). This is the same for the installer and customer access.
The remote access password is skybox
As with all systems, you should change these passwords on installation. (It probably doesn't matter a lot since you need physical access to the box to do anything but best to be safe.) The remote access password is more vulnerable. It is only available inside your network but could be accessed through an unsecured WiFi connection or if you have set up port forwarding for the box.
I was told that the admin password is only for their use so they don't give it out.

User avatar
BoMagluyan
OutBack Product Management
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:29 pm
My RE system: SkyBox
12x EnergyCell PLR batteries in an IBR3
no PV

Re: Passwords

Post by BoMagluyan » Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:51 am

I'm sorry it was a hassle.

At the moment, the default Owner and Installer passwords are 1234. And, at the moment, the default remote access password is skybox. All lower case.

Because we care about password security and unauthorized access, we made the following choices in SkyBox:
1) Do not document default passwords.
2) As soon as feasible, do away with default passwords entirely.

So, in a future firmware release, please expect the following:
A) There will be NO default Installer password. Setting an Installer password will be optional, unless the Installer changes grid settings. If grid settings are changed, Installer must set unique password.
b) There will be NO default Owner password. Setting an Owner password will be optional, unless the Installer or Owner enables remote login. In this case, the remote login password and the Owner password are the same.
Bo Magluyan
OutBack Product Management

OutBack Power Technologies, Inc.
An Enersys Company
1628 W Williams Drive, Phoenix AZ 85027 USA
www.outbackpower.com

mhspohr
Forum Whiz
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:56 am
My RE system: 6.6 kW SolarWorld/Enphase and 2.6 kW Sunpower/SMA
Skybox with 10 kWh SLA (used for power outage backup only)
Tesla 2015 Model S 85D charged from the sun.

Re: Passwords

Post by mhspohr » Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:47 pm

Sounds like a good plan.

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: Passwords

Post by sodamo » Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:09 pm

Somehow, I foresee a time ahead with inaccessible systems unless there will be a way to bypass. Keeping a default password makes more sense to me. Maybe some degree of security if people have a hard time finding it.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

mhspohr
Forum Whiz
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:56 am
My RE system: 6.6 kW SolarWorld/Enphase and 2.6 kW Sunpower/SMA
Skybox with 10 kWh SLA (used for power outage backup only)
Tesla 2015 Model S 85D charged from the sun.

Re: Passwords

Post by mhspohr » Wed Dec 04, 2019 6:08 am

Most devices permit a full system reset to default in the case of lost passwords. Requires physical access to the box so fairly secure.

JRHill
Forum Czar
Posts: 929
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:12 am
My RE system: VFX 3648, FM80, 3k panels, Mate3, FNDC (retired), 8ea L16 mixed. Wonderful wife.

Re: Passwords

Post by JRHill » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:01 pm

I foresee a time when we'll need a call back number to access programming features. Boy, oh boy, won't that be great when the cell phone booster is down for lack of power? Blast off to the top of the canyon and back down to enter it before it expires.... So far we've been fortunate since the "actors" only want to hit the masses.

(this is a tease comment but within imagination)

Post Reply