OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Discussion about the OutBack OpticsRE system monitor

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
outrigger999
Forum Guru
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:58 pm

OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by outrigger999 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:33 pm

Hello, in doing some calculations, can someone definitively tell me what the load (black bar) represents? Is that the household load only which is what we see as represented by the light bulb or does that include somehow the load that charging the batteries impose on the system as well?

Thanks...

outrigger999
Forum Guru
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by outrigger999 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:51 pm

Really, no one? Is this s dumb or obvious question?

Anyone from Outback wanna chime in?

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by sodamo » Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:09 pm

Well, I could guess, but suspect I'd be wrong, so I'm also awaiting the definitive answer from OB.

I do know that OpticsRE load does not equal load as reported by my house meter. It also appears to have some factor from running a generator.
I'd also like to see the definitions and computations of the other data points as well, but I'm not holding my breath. All should be in the manual. Just don't understand why such a secret.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

timmartin
Forum Guru
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:31 am
My RE system: ...
Sharp 120W Panels (12)
SunPerfect 230W Panels (9)
Whisper 100 Wind Turbine
Outback FM60 charge controller
Outback FM80 charge controller
Outback VFX3648 inverter/chargers (2)
Outback FlexNet DC
CALB CA400 LiFePO4 3.2V batteries
(32 cells paired together, 1 string = 51.2V 800Ah)

Re: OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by timmartin » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:46 am

I believe that "load" is as reported by the inverters. If you're on batteries, then it's the power being output by the inverters... this doesn't account for their lack of precision nor does it account for their own power consumption and inefficiencies.

For instance, right now my FX reported "load" is 240watts (2 AAC at 120 Volts). However, the draw on the batteries right now is almost twice that (9.8 ADC at 53.3 Volts). Even if i was measuring power on the AC side of things, I'd see numbers not matching the FX reporting. This is most likely because it can measure the AC amperage in full integers only, i.e. it's only going to report 1,2,3,4 etc. So you'll see it report power as 120 watts, then it will jump up to 240, then 360, and so on and so forth. At any one point it could be well over a 100 watts off from reality.

When the generator is on, the FXs will also report a load; Which is the the charger power subtracted from the total AC IN. I don't know if it measures the input, charger, AND output, or if it just measures two of these things and calculates the third.

Does that seem to align with what you're seeing in your own experience?

JRHill
Forum Czar
Posts: 809
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:12 am

Re: OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by JRHill » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:55 am

And factor in the shunt data if a FNDC is part of the system. That would be more accurate than the inverter measurement and would also include its overhead. It would help to understand what is being reported.

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by David LeBow » Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:16 pm

Additional feedback from the Mate3 engineering group:

"The Load represents the power going to the load through the output terminals. This is a calculation of the combined grid, generator and inverter inputs.
It is based on the 1 amp increments so it can be off by 120 Watts.
The bar scaling on the MATE is configurable in the Systems Info setup.
"

Hope that helps.

David
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

EMCF
Forum Virtuoso
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:22 am
My RE system: FX3048, 4 200a batteries, FM60. 3 kw array

Re: OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by EMCF » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:12 pm

The Load bar (To Load) is not just pure power, it has a factor of time in it, that's why the unit is kWH, also called Energy, the kind of units that we pay to electric companies. if you look for your electric bill, it says there that you pay an amount per kWH. This is different to the Load depicted by the light bulb in the power flow. Now, that is the real time power consumption, in which the unit is kW. So if you have a load of 100 watts (.1kw, shown near the light bulb icon) and it was ON for one hour, on the bar graph, it will be shown as .1kwh, the result of Power multiplied by elapsed time. All these, in a perfect world. :-"
Outback Fanboy at your service

outrigger999
Forum Guru
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: OpticsRE - What does the "load" bar represent?

Post by outrigger999 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:34 pm

Thanks everyone for the info.

Post Reply