MAC Address change for new MATE?

Discussion about the OutBack OpticsRE system monitor

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

Post Reply
eesiason
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason » Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:30 am

I'm swapping out my deceased MATE3 with a MATE3s. Is there no way to update the MATE MAC address on my existing OpticsRE profile? If I am understanding this correctly, I need to create a new profile for the new MATE? If true, seems silly. :-)

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 2910
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun » Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:33 am

There's no way to swap Mates from the user interface. Outback I can manually edit the OpticsRE database to link the new Mate3s to the existing profile.

Install it, but DO NOT register it.

Contact OB about the change.

eesiason
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason » Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:49 am

Thanks. Looks like that will be a bit. New MATE3s has a defective LCD. Grrrrrrrrrrrr.
Attachments
Defective Mate.jpg

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 2910
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun » Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:58 am

I'd try updating the firmware (even with the same release) in case its corrupt memory rather than defective LCD.

eesiason
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:09 pm

Firmware update was worth a shot, tried it, but nope. That strip of the LCD is clearly not energized. Hopefully my reseller can replace it for me and spare me the joy of getting past Outback's support triage that pushes self-installing system owners to the bottom of the callback list.

User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Guru
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
4 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
2 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 4 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
54 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, 2 x VFX3648,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
1 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by EA6LE-ONE » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:31 pm

Maybe you could open it and check the connector from the screen if is well plugged in.

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 2910
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by raysun » Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:33 pm

eesiason wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:09 pm
Firmware update was worth a shot, tried it, but nope. That strip of the LCD is clearly not energized. Hopefully my reseller can replace it for me and spare me the joy of getting past Outback's support triage that pushes self-installing system owners to the bottom of the callback list.
When you get the replacement 3s, post back here. One of the OB folks that monitors the forum will likely see it.

eesiason
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:40 am
My RE system: Off-Grid 48ea Sunmodule SW240, sunmodule 240W Modules, 18 SolarWorld 290W modules, 2ea Radian 8000W GS8048 48V 120/240VAC Inverter, 4ea Flexmax 80, MATE 3s, Hub 10, 2kw Wind, two 15kw ecogen on a manual bypass. Everything is redundant.
Location: 648 Southbridge Rd., Warren MA
Contact:

Re: MAC Address change for new MATE?

Post by eesiason » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:06 pm

EA6LE-ONE wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 12:31 pm
Maybe you could open it and check the connector from the screen if is well plugged in.
Haha. Only if someone from Outback Tech Support explicitly told me to do that in writing. If it was out of warranty, aka not brand new this week, that would already be done. I'd also be looking at swapping the LCD from the old mate to the new one as I bet there is a good chance they are the same.

Outback TS answered the phone and has set up a replacement to ship. Hopefully. Meanwhile the old MATE3 is in place and working. Sort of. It won't connect to the internet and it does not respond to any program key presses, which seems fairly common. (Tried forcing firmware reload.)

Post Reply