OpticsRE and setup

Discussion about the OutBack OpticsRE system monitor

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
TRooney
Forum Whiz
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:11 pm
My RE system: 48 Trojan Battery Bank
4 VFX3648 Inverter Chargers
4 Charge Controllers
Diesel AC Generator
3 PV arrays

OpticsRE and setup

Post by TRooney » Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:18 pm

Be gentle if I missed this answer earlier but, I have an off grid site with new Outback FP2 VFXR3524A FM80 Flexpower Two system. No internet service. I have cell service and an Ipad with unlimited data. How can I use Optics RE while Im at the site, through my IPad or with a laptop? Can I use a Cellular modem to connect wirelesly to IPad data or use the IPad as a hot spot? Thanks for any help.

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by David LeBow » Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:35 pm

OpticsRE requires your controller (Mate3, Mate3S or AXS Port) to communicate with OpticsRE in the cloud. I'm afraid to say that there's no "local" OpticsRE option.
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
Zip92
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:14 pm
My RE system: Canadian Remote Cabin - Solar + Diesel Gen
COMM: Mate3s
INV: x2 VFX3524
CC1: MX-60
CC2: Conext MPPT 80
SOLAR1: 6x 123w (Sharp ND-L3EJEA)
SOLAR2: 12x 250w
BATT: RollsSurrette 24v (2v x 12) S2-1275AGM
GEN: Cummins 10kw Deisel w/ Atkinson GSCM Mini D
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by Zip92 » Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:24 pm

If you have cell service, then you can get a mobile modem as you mentioned. Just hardwire your Mate to the cellular modem and way you go.

TRooney
Forum Whiz
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:11 pm
My RE system: 48 Trojan Battery Bank
4 VFX3648 Inverter Chargers
4 Charge Controllers
Diesel AC Generator
3 PV arrays

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by TRooney » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:38 pm

So David Lebow and zip92, contradict each other. I do have cell service and can get on internet with my IPad. Sooooo? Can one or both of you comment further?

User avatar
Zip92
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:14 pm
My RE system: Canadian Remote Cabin - Solar + Diesel Gen
COMM: Mate3s
INV: x2 VFX3524
CC1: MX-60
CC2: Conext MPPT 80
SOLAR1: 6x 123w (Sharp ND-L3EJEA)
SOLAR2: 12x 250w
BATT: RollsSurrette 24v (2v x 12) S2-1275AGM
GEN: Cummins 10kw Deisel w/ Atkinson GSCM Mini D
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by Zip92 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:50 am

Hey TRooney. We in fact were not contradicting each other; or did not intend to anyhow. Lebow is correct in stating that the Mate needs to communicate with the cloud. To do this, it needs to be connected to the internet.

I was suggesting that you could set up internet there by means of a mobile modem. My carrier here in Canada has the ZTE 4G LTE Router. https://www.zteusa.com/zte-4glte-router-voice

It's a modem/router/wifi-hotspot all in one that runs off of the cellular. And has x1 ports to hardwire some devices such as the Mate, or connect it to a switch or another router to expand if needed.
I also have some WiFi cameras that connect through this and allows me to see my equipment, weather, snowfall, etc...

Simply plug your Mate into that, and its connected to the internet.

Make sense? Another option is to get Satellite Internet setup there; which is what I have now because my cellular signals are weak.

Adam

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by sodamo » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:50 am

I agree.
My internet connection is AT&T cellular into a MOFI 4500 modem/router and it feeds my eeros wifi network. my Mate 3 connects via ethernet cable to a eeros module located in tractor utility shed.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

TRooney
Forum Whiz
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:11 pm
My RE system: 48 Trojan Battery Bank
4 VFX3648 Inverter Chargers
4 Charge Controllers
Diesel AC Generator
3 PV arrays

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by TRooney » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:46 am

Zip92, This seems pretty simple. So I still a little confused. Should I check with my Internet Service Provider for the best modem, or do I check with my cell service provider (Verizon) as to their suggestion? Thanks, Tim

User avatar
Zip92
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:14 pm
My RE system: Canadian Remote Cabin - Solar + Diesel Gen
COMM: Mate3s
INV: x2 VFX3524
CC1: MX-60
CC2: Conext MPPT 80
SOLAR1: 6x 123w (Sharp ND-L3EJEA)
SOLAR2: 12x 250w
BATT: RollsSurrette 24v (2v x 12) S2-1275AGM
GEN: Cummins 10kw Deisel w/ Atkinson GSCM Mini D
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by Zip92 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:19 pm

Hi Tim,
Yes see what Verizon has available for you. I just checked their website quickly, and their "Jetpack MiFi" devices are close... but they dont have the LAN port that you need. Make sure you tell them you need LAN ports. They must have something. Let us know if you're successful.

Adam

I see Verizon used to offer this unit. Speak to them and see if you can purchase it from Amazon, and then get a SIM card and data plan for it. Everything is going wireless on us it seems... Or ideally they have something current to replace it with.
https://www.amazon.com/Novatel-Verizon- ... B00JL57PMG
https://www.verizonwireless.com/home-of ... ith-voice/

TRooney
Forum Whiz
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:11 pm
My RE system: 48 Trojan Battery Bank
4 VFX3648 Inverter Chargers
4 Charge Controllers
Diesel AC Generator
3 PV arrays

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by TRooney » Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:38 pm

Zip92, I was just looking at the JetPak Mifi. I could possible connect a wireless modem with Lan Ports to the JetPak possibly.
I also found this and think it may be compatible with Verizon. https://www.sierrawireless.com/products ... ays/ls300/

User avatar
Zip92
Forum Whiz
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:14 pm
My RE system: Canadian Remote Cabin - Solar + Diesel Gen
COMM: Mate3s
INV: x2 VFX3524
CC1: MX-60
CC2: Conext MPPT 80
SOLAR1: 6x 123w (Sharp ND-L3EJEA)
SOLAR2: 12x 250w
BATT: RollsSurrette 24v (2v x 12) S2-1275AGM
GEN: Cummins 10kw Deisel w/ Atkinson GSCM Mini D
Location: Ontario Canada

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by Zip92 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:49 pm

Great! Although, from the quick glance at the JetPack MiFi, I dont see that is has any ethernet/LAN ports. Maybe they have different models. Good luck!

TRooney
Forum Whiz
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:11 pm
My RE system: 48 Trojan Battery Bank
4 VFX3648 Inverter Chargers
4 Charge Controllers
Diesel AC Generator
3 PV arrays

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by TRooney » Thu Dec 05, 2019 11:16 am

UPDATE: I bought and installed a MoFi 4500 3G/4g/LTE modem at the site. Success! I needed to add the device (the modem) to my unlimited data plan with Verizon. You should call to do this. I did so in my office with the Modem plugged in. They will want the IMEI number of the modem and you will need your plan info so they know who you are. When they enabled the device the Internet LED lit up. I then installed the modem at the site. You will need a 12 volt supply, or a 120 volt circuit and use the Power supply that came with the modem. It will be < 1amp load. Once you see the Internet LED light up you can connect wirelessly to the Mofi network . Then navigate to Optics RE website and create your profile, site, and system information. You will need the MAC address from the Mate as well. The Optics software is very intuitive. In fact if I ever have to go to the site for any reason, I will be sure to bring my Ipad or laptop to make any Mate adjustments through Optics rather than using the Mate itself. It was rather easy once I had the modem added to my plan. The local Verizon people were not much help, so suggest calling the Verizon support number to get the modem added. Not very often do I give cu-dos to software, but with Optics RE package, Ill I can say is Good Job and two thumbs up!

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: OpticsRE and setup

Post by sodamo » Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:24 am

Sounds like you found a good solution =D>
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

Post Reply