SOC goes down when selling power

A place where users can meetup with other FlexPower One users and can find support for one another. A great place for people who have not purchased the FlexPower One yet to look up information.
Post Reply
jgreen1024
Forum Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 6:48 am
My RE system: FLEXPower Radian 4kW

SOC goes down when selling power

Post by jgreen1024 » Tue May 03, 2016 1:08 pm

Hi all-

Just had a FlexPower One with the GS4048A inverter installed last week. This is set up to be primarily grid-tied, but with battery backup in case the grid goes out. I am having a little trouble getting my head around the theory of operation of this unit - any "getting started" pointers would be appreciated.

One immediate issue that I can't make sense of: When the system is selling power back to the grid, my battery state of charge value starts dropping. However, the battery voltage stays constant (right around 55.4) and after I manually caused it to start charging the batteries last night, it only took ~45 minutes to show fully charged - seems way too fast if the batteries were actually down to 64%. So I'm not sure the batteries are actually being drained. How is the SOC value computed?

Here's a view of today's activity in the attachment - you can see that the SOC started dropping as soon as it started selling power. Right now it's showing the batteries at 66%. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Attachments
5-3-2016 4-05-41 PM.png

Mike Curran
Forum Emperor
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
My RE system: Outback - Garage roof:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one MX60 (2007)
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80 (2017)
- 2 grid-tied GVFX3524's classic stacked for 120/240VAC (2007)
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah (2007)
- Hub10.3, Mate3s, FNDC, RTS, OpticsRE. Tigo Energy ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar - Barn roof: (2012)
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied, no longer AC- coupled

Outback Skybox - Barn roof: (2019)
- 14 (2x7) Talesun 275W (DC array input to SB charger)
- 3 SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries, 48V, 225Ah total
- AC coupled input from 14 Talesun 275W, Enphase M215 modules

All self-designed and self-installed
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Re: SOC goes down when selling power

Post by Mike Curran » Mon May 23, 2016 6:40 am

I think SOC = [(Batt capacity - AH out)/Batt cap] x 100%.

Batt capacity must be entered into your Mate3 based on your bank's 20 hour rate.
AH out is what's being measured by your system's primary shunt.

My SOC also goes down while I'm selling but only ever so slightly. I have a small PV array with a large battery. Not sure what you have but suspect your bank capacity is not entered correctly into your system's Mate3.
http://www.tigoenergy.com/site.php?95b2dca2-ca6c
https://enlighten.enphaseenergy.com/public/systems/Hctc107221

jgreen1024
Forum Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 6:48 am
My RE system: FLEXPower Radian 4kW

Re: SOC goes down when selling power

Post by jgreen1024 » Mon May 23, 2016 7:12 am

We figured it out - one of the leads from a shunt to the FNDC was not screwed down tight - came that way from the factory. Once I tightened that screw, problem went away.

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: SOC goes down when selling power

Post by larrywa » Mon May 23, 2016 3:20 pm

jgreen1024 wrote:We figured it out - one of the leads from a shunt to the FNDC was not screwed down tight - came that way from the factory. Once I tightened that screw, problem went away.
Nice!

Good catch!

After wiring my FlexPower II from scratch I went over every connection again. After about six months I shut it down and did the same thing again. I needed to reverse my two shunts to match my CC order anyway.

It doesn't take much when dealing with big currents or sensitive low voltage inputs to make things wrong.

Post Reply