Ac input disconnects

A place where users can meetup with other FlexPower One users and can find support for one another. A great place for people who have not purchased the FlexPower One yet to look up information.

Ac input disconnects

Postby cbesolar on Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:28 am

Hello All,

I have been noticing that the AC input switch keeps disconnecting at night, causing it to use battery power. Any idea why AC input breaker trips? I am not drawing too much load though. Thanks.

KC
cbesolar
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:36 pm
Location: Coimbatore, India
My RE system: Flexpower One [GVFX3024E (230 VAC, 50 Hz), MATE2, HUB4, RTS, FLEXmax 80, and FLEXnet DC]
Two 150 Ah 12 V batteries.
2 kWp PV array.

Re: Ac input disconnects

Postby larrywa on Thu Jul 30, 2015 6:30 am

cbesolar wrote:Hello All,

I have been noticing that the AC input switch keeps disconnecting at night, causing it to use battery power. Any idea why AC input breaker trips? I am not drawing too much load though. Thanks.

KC

What size is the breaker?

How many times has the breaker tripped?
How old is the breaker?
Does the breaker feel warm when it is working?
larrywa
OutBack Guru
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: Ac input disconnects

Postby cbesolar on Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:52 am

4-5 times now.
The unit is about 4 years old.
No, not particularly warm.
cbesolar
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:36 pm
Location: Coimbatore, India
My RE system: Flexpower One [GVFX3024E (230 VAC, 50 Hz), MATE2, HUB4, RTS, FLEXmax 80, and FLEXnet DC]
Two 150 Ah 12 V batteries.
2 kWp PV array.

Re: Ac input disconnects

Postby Vic on Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:30 am

Hi cbesolar,

Eventhough the breaker does not seem particularly warm, if is a good idea to check and re-torque wire connections. The terminal connections should be TIGHT.

Copper cold-flows over a period of time, and this relaxes the torque on connections, especially if these connections were not torqued sufficiently, initially.

This re-torqueing should really be done with power OFF to the circuits being worked on ... if one is very careful, and you have the proper sized screwdriver with an insulated shaft, if can be done with the power on (IMO).

Loose connections cause higher resistance connections, and this increased resistance causes a voltage drop, and increased heat inside the breaker.

And, generally, the more times that a Thermal, or Thermal-Magnetic breaker trips, the more sensitive they usually become (and therefore trip at a lower current), at least, in my experience.

FWIW, Vic
4/20/08: 18 Shell SQ 175-106 Vmpp, Stacked 5548 SW+, 1350 AH Surrette 4KS25's, MX-60, Kubota SQ-3250 25 KVA Polyphase Diesel genset. Thanks OutBack for this Forum + the great Support and Service.
Vic
OutBack Czar
 
Posts: 982
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:56 pm
Location: San Joajuin County, CA


Return to Flex Power One

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests