Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post Reply
jcdammeyer
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:56 am
My RE system: Flexmax80, AXS Port, Lifeline 8Ds, ONAN Genset, ELCON Charger

Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by jcdammeyer » Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:23 am

So I've held the reset button down for over 5 seconds. The RED LED blinks rapidly at the end of 5 seconds. Theoretically the IP should now be 192.168.0.64. I'm using MODBUS POLL from http://www.modbustools.com/ and yet am unable to establish a connection. I can use MODBUS POLL to talk to the MODBUS SLAVE application and with WireShark can see the TCP packets.

The AXS is mute. What's the next step to get it to talk?

Thanks
John

User avatar
fatheadl
Forum Whiz
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:16 am
My RE system: 8 KC130TM, FM60, RTS, Samlex S1500-124, AXS Port, FN-DC, 8 NSB170FT Blue AGM
Location: Knigston, Jamaica

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by fatheadl » Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:49 am

Hi John,
Which register are you trying to read?

fathead
8 KC130TM, FM60, RTS, Samlex S1500-124, Mate3, FN-DC, 8 NSB170FT Blue AGM

jcdammeyer
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:56 am
My RE system: Flexmax80, AXS Port, Lifeline 8Ds, ONAN Genset, ELCON Charger

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by jcdammeyer » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:41 pm

I want to be able to read all of them and also write to the pertinent ones for my application.

At this point now though, I want a bit more. Once these products are out in the field I need to have diagnostic abilities to verify that things are running correctly.

The user manual says that ftp can be used to access the on board microSD card to upload the log files. Which means that I should be able to log in with an FTP application and look at the folders. But again the AXS manual doesn't specify the default user ID or password after a hard reset. I'm assuming anonymous and no password. Of course there is an FTP password field but if I can't read it then I can't use it.

One would think, for service, that a unit like this would provide a PING response to ensure that the IP number is correct and that the unit is at least talking to the internal Ethernet Stack.

And with respect to MODBUS TCP messages, if my system won't even connect to the IP # 192.168.0.64 then it's pretty hard to send it MODBUS information.

jkerr336
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:51 pm
My RE system: Astronergy 290 watt panels, Outback FlexMax 80 Charge Controller, Magnum MS4448PAE Power Center, AIR X 48V 400 watts Wind Turbine, Surrette S-530 Batteries, AXS Port, MagWeb - Ethernet Web Monitoring Kit (ME-MW-E)
Location: Laramie, WY

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by jkerr336 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:07 pm

I am experiencing a similar issue, so I am interested in the answer to this question. I am writing a JAVA Modbus Master application to communicate with the AXS. My application tests well against a slave simulator, but I am unable to connect to the AXS. I get a general connection failure when I use TCPMasterConnection to connect, this happens before I try to grab any registers. I agree that the device seems to be either mute or deaf.

User avatar
fatheadl
Forum Whiz
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:16 am
My RE system: 8 KC130TM, FM60, RTS, Samlex S1500-124, AXS Port, FN-DC, 8 NSB170FT Blue AGM
Location: Knigston, Jamaica

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by fatheadl » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:41 pm

Hi,
For the modbuspoll application, the default settings do not work. The registers start at 40000, the total number of registers will vary according to number and type of devices that its talking to. I just tried, I can be pinged.

Fathead
8 KC130TM, FM60, RTS, Samlex S1500-124, Mate3, FN-DC, 8 NSB170FT Blue AGM

jcdammeyer
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 9:56 am
My RE system: Flexmax80, AXS Port, Lifeline 8Ds, ONAN Genset, ELCON Charger

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by jcdammeyer » Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:21 am

I've gone the direct route with a crossed CAT5 cable too. No luck. Green LEDs are on. There is low level communications.

I'm expecting to find the Sunspec Common block at logical address 40001 by sending 0x9C40 (40000) as the physical address. At least according to the Sunspec doc. This is different from the way that the Allan Bradly PLC I was using last spring did things but it's no big deal. An address is an address.

John

User avatar
fatheadl
Forum Whiz
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:16 am
My RE system: 8 KC130TM, FM60, RTS, Samlex S1500-124, AXS Port, FN-DC, 8 NSB170FT Blue AGM
Location: Knigston, Jamaica

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by fatheadl » Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:46 am

Hi John,
What's the IP address of the machine you are using?

Fathead.
8 KC130TM, FM60, RTS, Samlex S1500-124, Mate3, FN-DC, 8 NSB170FT Blue AGM

User avatar
tallgirl
Forum Emperor
Posts: 4334
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:59 am
My RE system: 16 Kyocera KC175GT (2,800 watts DC), MX-60, 2 OutBack GVFX3648, 8 GC2 batteries (6v @ 215AH),
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by tallgirl » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:10 am

You should at least receive an Illegal Address Exception if you're talking to the correct IP address. You don't mention the Modbus stack you're using. Might I suggest j2mod from SourceForge? The URL is https://sourceforge.net/projects/j2mod/
Julie in Texas

I ride bicycles. A lot.

jkerr336
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:51 pm
My RE system: Astronergy 290 watt panels, Outback FlexMax 80 Charge Controller, Magnum MS4448PAE Power Center, AIR X 48V 400 watts Wind Turbine, Surrette S-530 Batteries, AXS Port, MagWeb - Ethernet Web Monitoring Kit (ME-MW-E)
Location: Laramie, WY

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by jkerr336 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:10 pm

I'm sorry, I thought my issue was similar to the original post, but I see that I have messed up this thread. I'll re-post my question in its own thread.

User avatar
unicornio
Forum Guru
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:03 am
My RE system: VFX3024E - FM60X2 - Hub4 - FlexNet DC 3 shunts - Mate3- Array DC GFS & AC Bypass from Outback - 985 AH C120 OPzS EXIDE Solar Classic battery - KYOCERA 1,56 KWp PV Array- Lorentz ETATrack Solar Tracker with easy inclination axis variation system- 6KVA Yanmar Chinese bio-diesel genset in AGS mode via DeepSea 3110 & Mate3 - Efergy Elite energy monitor- PCE-FWS20 (Watson) Solar Meteo Station
Location: Gredos mountains,Valle del Tietar, Spain.
Contact:

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by unicornio » Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:10 am

there may be you have a MATE3 in the same network (same IP address)??? ...;-)
http://www.tallerecologicolosunicornios.org/ Monitor On-Line planta de energia solar: http://www.jeperez.com/monitor-solar-outback/ Servico Tecnico Oficial de OutBack en Espa├▒a http://www.viviendaaislada.es/

Sasquatch
Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:48 pm
My RE system: http://www.m2group.com/SolarPowerWeb/
Location: Green Bay, WI
Contact:

Re: Connecting to and discovering AXS IP.

Post by Sasquatch » Sat Jul 04, 2015 2:37 pm

I noticed that performing a hardware reset on an AXS port will reset the IP address in the registers to 192.168.0.64 as advertized but I also discovered that a hardware reset enables DHCP so one has to search for the AXS port on the LAN.

One way to do that is disconnect the AXS port and use the Angry IP Scanner app to scan for IP addresses.
Make a note of any addresses in DHCP range then reconnect the AXS port and scan again.
The new IP address that appears will be the AXS port.
Disable DCHP on the AXS Port (set the value in register 40090 = 0) and then power cycle the AXS port. It will now appear on the LAN at the IP address configured in register 40091-40092.

Post Reply