Radian GS8048A reprogram's itself every morning

Dual Input, 120/240, stainless steel form factor design for unsurpassed surge capability
Post Reply
wirenut
Forum Whiz
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:49 pm
My RE system: 36 Solar World 235 modules. 6 are connected to an FM60 and 2 VFX3648 inverters for back-up. The other 30 mods are connected to an SMA SB 6.0 for gird tie operation.
Location: Swoope, VA
Contact:

Radian GS8048A reprogram's itself every morning

Post by wirenut » Mon Mar 30, 2020 4:30 am

I have a customer with a GS8048A inverter that keeps changing it's MODE from "grid-tied" to "generator". When it does this, of course, it doesn't sell power back the utility. The homeowner goes to the basement every morning and uses the MATE3s to change the mode back to grid-tied. Then, the inverter sells power back all day just like it should. The next morning, usually about the time the sun is coming up he says, he will go down and find the mode set to generator and the inverter not selling. When we reload save and reload the file using the SD card it is set for "grid-tied".
The rest of the system consists of 2 FM80 charge controllers, a FlexNetDC, and a 10 port hub.
Outback tech support ask for us to send them the program file from the SD card which we did but they have not responded.

Thanks for any help that anyone can give.

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 2104
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower One: FX3048T, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
Outback 200NC batteries (8 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Radian GS8048A reprogram's itself every morning

Post by raysun » Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:48 am

Not to say it will solve the issue, but reloading the firmware, not just the configuration data, may help.

Is there anything in the event log that sheds light?

Are there timer functions set?

Are the parameters, especially if there are cascading parameters, set in the proper priority order? (I don't know if this is relevant, I don't own a radian.)

fcwlp
Forum Guru
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:40 am
My RE system: GS8048A, FM80 w/3,600 W PV Fixed, FM80 w/2,700W on Zomeworks tracker, Mate3, 24 Trojan 2V L16 1100AH @ C20, Grid-Tied with Kohler 14RESA LPG Generator and MEP-803 Diesel if needed
I also install and maintain grid-tied and off-grid systems, details will be given for these system if required
Location: 80 miles NE of Phoenix at 5500'

Re: Radian GS8048A reprogram's itself every morning

Post by fcwlp » Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:51 am

By chance has FLEXtime been accidentally programmed to switch to Generator sometime in the morning?

wirenut
Forum Whiz
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:49 pm
My RE system: 36 Solar World 235 modules. 6 are connected to an FM60 and 2 VFX3648 inverters for back-up. The other 30 mods are connected to an SMA SB 6.0 for gird tie operation.
Location: Swoope, VA
Contact:

Re: Radian GS8048A reprogram's itself every morning

Post by wirenut » Mon Mar 30, 2020 4:41 pm

Thanks for that suggestion. I'll take a look.

Post Reply