Adding generator to GS8048A

Dual Input, 120/240, stainless steel form factor design for unsurpassed surge capability
Post Reply
Ron J
Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm
My RE system: GS8048A (Mini Grid mode), GSLC175-AC 120/240, 1200 AH flooded L.A. 48V single string forklift battery, 13KW PV, 3 Midnite Classics, 7KW Honda inverter generator.
Location: Manhattan KS

Adding generator to GS8048A

Post by Ron J » Thu Dec 27, 2018 2:01 pm

Newbie to the group, so be gentle on me :) Would like to add a generator to my GS8048A for battery charging. Anything specific I need to look out for? Not sure if my equipment list and mode of operation I entered when I registered for this forum shows up or not.

User avatar
Jorge Guzman
Strategic Platforms
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 9:44 am
My RE system: VFXR3524A, FM80, MATE3. 3x 260W REC. 4x Trojan L16 FLA 370Ah.
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: Adding generator to GS8048A

Post by Jorge Guzman » Thu Dec 27, 2018 2:52 pm

Hi There welcome to the forum! and thanks for your system description!

The generator should wire into the GEN input of the Load center. The Input mode should be defaulted to Generator but wouldn't hurt to double check. One thing i noticed is you have a relatively small generator for the Radian so you want to make sure to reduce the charging amps to avoid an overload. 2800W/240V ~11.6A and to be more conservative you can lower it further since most generators can only be loaded down to 80% of their rating. Having minimal loads while the gen is running will help as well.
Jorge Guzman
Sr. Strategic Platforms Analyst


Watch easy to follow video tutorials:
https://www.youtube.com/c/wattschool

Ron J
Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm
My RE system: GS8048A (Mini Grid mode), GSLC175-AC 120/240, 1200 AH flooded L.A. 48V single string forklift battery, 13KW PV, 3 Midnite Classics, 7KW Honda inverter generator.
Location: Manhattan KS

Re: Adding generator to GS8048A

Post by Ron J » Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:08 pm

It's the gen that I have, and I do realize it is relatively small :) I may upgrade later, but for now...

Post Reply