AGS Shutdown

Dual Input, 120/240, stainless steel form factor design for unsurpassed surge capability
Post Reply
sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 793
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

AGS Shutdown

Post by sodamo » Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:07 pm

Not sure this is best/proper forum area but as it involves my Radian.

On 2 occasions I have had voltage starts on my generator, generator doesn’t deliver AC (separate problem I suspect) causing error message and my Radian shuts down and restarts until I clear the error.

From my Update thread and profile, note this is not a textbook install so I need to explain a bit more.

I have 2FX3048T set up as charger only with my diesel generator. The only connection between this and Radians is battery, separate hub, Mate3s. This should mean that Radian sees nothing on the FX AC side other than battery charging. This has happened twice. 1st time using Gen Alert on FX, 2nd time using 2min voltage on AGS. Even though the generator has shutdown and thrown the error code I’d think FX is seeing it as completely shut down at the AUX. there is still something clicking at the genset which is beyond this forum I suspect. Some relay or something not resetting on genset until I disconnect battery. This was for info only.

Once I do the battery disconnect I can manually OFF AGS and manually start my other genset from the Radian Mate3S. Runs without problem.

More background.
Both systems run generator exercise on schedule without problem.
Both systems run a manual start without problem.
Never had this shutdown with the diesel until after I moved it, causing me to wonder if I somehow upset something. Of course I also wonder if maybe bad fuel just as a coincidence.

But my major concern is WHY is Radian shutting down? Suggestions what to check.

NOTE: For anyone that followed my update thread and suspects the 2nd FNDC, the 1st incident (Gen Alert) was prior to adding 2nd FNDC so I don’t suspect it is a factor.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 793
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: AGS Shutdown

Post by sodamo » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:52 am

May have some insight to problem. Just too narrow difference between AGS start settings and Inverter Cut Out. Pulled the OpticsRE report and i had dropped to Cut Out same time as generator fail. Still hope OB gives us better settings than .4v intervals, but looks like my choice is to set Start around 30% SOC or reduce the Cut Out below manufacture recommended.
Haven’t been able to confirm yet, but diesel generator problem seems to be related to the autostart board. A 3rd party add-on.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
Posts: 1447
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
My RE system: VFX3524, Mate3, 200Ah 24V AGM Battery Bank
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: AGS Shutdown

Post by Kurt Lundquist » Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:53 pm

Are you using the FNDC relay to cut out the Radian via the inverter On/Off terminals? I've seen many details on your setup from other threads but cannot remember the whole setup.

-Kurt
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 793
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: AGS Shutdown

Post by sodamo » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:46 pm

No Kurt
Old fashion AUX to relay
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
Posts: 1447
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
My RE system: VFX3524, Mate3, 200Ah 24V AGM Battery Bank
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: AGS Shutdown

Post by Kurt Lundquist » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:09 am

AUX to relay for the inverter ON/OFF? What AUX command are you using? To be clear I wasn't asking about AGS. The built-in inverter Low Battery Cut Out (LBCO) has a delay of ~5 minutes so it is hard to rely on as a protection for over-discharging a lithium type battery. See page 6-7 of the Simplifi app note for details http://www.outbackpower.com/downloads/d ... p_note.pdf

-Kurt
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 793
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: AGS Shutdown

Post by sodamo » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:07 am

Thanks Kurt. No not doing that. Just the LBCO setting in inverter. AuX for AGS. Guessing installer doesn’t follow this as he never said anything.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
Posts: 1447
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
My RE system: VFX3524, Mate3, 200Ah 24V AGM Battery Bank
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: AGS Shutdown

Post by Kurt Lundquist » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:51 am

It is a pretty easy tweak that I think would be well within your capabilities. It would give you a chance to lower the LBCO but still not have to worry about over-discharge.

-Kurt
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/

Post Reply