AC coupling Configuration Question

Dual Input, 120/240, stainless steel form factor design for unsurpassed surge capability

AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby pss on Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:57 am

I updated my Mate 3S to firmware 1.41 and my Radian GS8048A to firmware 1.6.70. According to technical note of Feb 22, 2019, I should be able to program AC coupling by going to my Mate 3S, selecting inverter and scrolling down to the AC Coupling menu. That menu is not present.

I am in Minigrid in the day and do not sell back to utility. So my question is: Is the AC Coupling menu for the Inverter via the Mate 3S always present or is it dependent on the other settings of the Inverter such as Grid Tied? IE., does this AC Coupling Menu appear and disappear from the Mate3S and what settings does it depend on being present to appear as an option?

Thanks.
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby Gwendoly Espe on Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:25 am

Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineer


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com
User avatar
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineering
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:04 am

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby pss on Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:42 am

Yes, I entered the installer password. There is no AC Coupling menu option on my Mate 3S, Settings, Inverter menu. That is why I posted on forum. Something is wrong here with the firmware, at least in my case or other menu parameters to make this menu line item display.
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby raysun on Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:53 am

raysun
Forum Czar
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby pss on Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:09 am

If the firmware updates proceed without error and yet, as you suggest there could be corruption in the process or incompletion of the process, then it would be incumbent upon the software manufacturer to provide a program to execute and verify that all firmware checksums and code is installed correctly. Otherwise, resetting all to defaults, taking power off line and just guessing is not a real solution and not something I want to have to do unless I find it to be absolutely necessary. Also, if corrupt programming is present, it present a hazard to a technician maybe?
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby raysun on Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:24 am

raysun
Forum Czar
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby Gwendoly Espe on Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:46 am

Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineer


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com
User avatar
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineering
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:04 am

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby raysun on Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:59 am

Interesting Gwendoly.

I thought some bit did not get flipped during the upgrade process, but it makes sense this could be "by design".

Protecting the system from folks who use "PASSWORD" as their password.
raysun
Forum Czar
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby pss on Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:51 pm

My system is using the default three digit installer password.
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby raysun on Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:10 pm

raysun
Forum Czar
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby Gwendoly Espe on Wed Apr 24, 2019 2:53 am

Attachments
Installer Password.jpg
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineer


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com
User avatar
Gwendoly Espe
Applications Engineering
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:04 am

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby pss on Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:49 am

Well, it turns out that when I re-read the Feb tech note on AC Coupling, it does indeed say to enter the installer password. I was entering the user password. Now, when I enter the installer password, my AC Coupling menu item is properly displayed.

Thanks Gwendolyn for pointing this out.
In the future I will be much more careful in reading the noes.
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby Kurt Lundquist on Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:01 am

Why are you using AC coupling? Do you have a normal grid-direct string inverter wired to the Radian AC output?

-Kurt
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/
User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
Location: Arlington, WA
My RE system:

Re: AC coupling Configuration Question

Postby pss on Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:39 am

The geographic restrictions at my property make the addition of more panels for load with microinverters much more feasible than another DC array.
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system:


Return to RADIAN Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron