Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
vincjwan
Forum Whiz
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:33 am
My RE system: Grid interactive system,(Backup),GVFX3048E , Flexmax 80 , Trojan T105RE(16), 2600W Solar, Sell:NO, RTS, Hub4, Mate3, OpticsRE
Location: Batroun, Lebanon

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by vincjwan » Sat Jun 18, 2016 12:17 am

Thx David for ur explanation and clarification, you'r right cause I never been disconnected and auto reboot isn't necessary so thx OB team

bluespur
Forum Expert
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:32 pm
My RE system: VFX3024x2
Flexmax60x2
3000W total solar, 135w panel array and 220w panel array
Mate3
12xHawker Perfect Plus 8PZS120 FLA batteries
Own built generator Kubota D600 engine, 7.5Kw gen head

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by bluespur » Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:01 pm

Reporting back, with a SD card inserted, and a 4 hour boot interval set, the mate 3 running 3.015.001 appears to be much more resilient to network outages, thanks for the support, shame it was so hard to extract the detail.
Cheers
Garth

mtnmerlin
Forum Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:11 pm
My RE system: Mate3
CC Flexmax 80
INV Flexware 500
eight 170RE AGM batteries
six Suniva OPT 265 W modules

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by mtnmerlin » Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:36 am

Once again, the update to OpticsRE knocked my Mate3 offline. It has been offline for the last two days without reconnecting. It did not reconnect when I disconnected/reconnected the ethernet cable. I did not have the auto-reboot enabled. I do now (4 hours since I see it only reboots when there is no connection). My system is at a remote location that has no access during the winter, so I really need the connection to stay up and not require manual interaction.

azgene
Forum Whiz
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:45 pm
My RE system: Radian GS8048; FM60, Mate3, HUB4, FNDC, 20x Sharp NU-U180, 2x4x UB4D/122000

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by azgene » Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:36 am

Problem with Ethernet connection:
No response to ping, and, of course, can't display local web pages.
Mate3 version showing 3.15.1 but Ethernet version showing 2.19.0 (the previous Mate3 firmware before update to 3.15.1)
The M3Ethev3.bin file IS on the SD card as unpacked from the zip file. It looks like the Ethernet portion of the update failed to load?
Not a router/hub issue - reverted back to 2.19 and all works right.
Maybe can't update from 2.19.0 to 3.15.1 ? What intermediate version would be needed?

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by larrywa » Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:41 pm

One of the versions I found by installing it repeatedly it worked better.

Now I take the SD card and coy all the data over to my PC, reformat the SD card and write it back to the SD card along with the install firmware image.

OB software has trouble installing Mte3 firmware correctly, trouble to sign into their forum, trouble to sign into their OpticsRe and trouble keeping connected to the OpticRE site from the Mate3. And much of this has improved from before.

You see common denominator there?

azgene
Forum Whiz
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:45 pm
My RE system: Radian GS8048; FM60, Mate3, HUB4, FNDC, 20x Sharp NU-U180, 2x4x UB4D/122000

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by azgene » Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:51 am

--SOLVED--
...renamed M3Ethev3.bin to M3Ethe.bin (like it used to be way back when...)
Reverted back to firmware 2.19.0, then re-did the firmware update to 3.15.1 and
the Ethernet firmware version is now correctly shown 3.15.1 and web pages
work o.k. Ping o.k., too, of course.
Now, let's see if I can find a Mate3 user manual online that includes all the
OpticsRE related options and settings. You know, stuff that was not in the
printed manual that came with the pruchased Mate3 years ago.

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by larrywa » Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:55 am

Printed manual?

Must have been before my time. :)

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by David LeBow » Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:20 pm

mtnmerlin wrote:Once again, the update to OpticsRE knocked my Mate3 offline. It has been offline for the last two days without reconnecting. It did not reconnect when I disconnected/reconnected the ethernet cable. I did not have the auto-reboot enabled. I do now (4 hours since I see it only reboots when there is no connection). My system is at a remote location that has no access during the winter, so I really need the connection to stay up and not require manual interaction.
Could you let me know your Optics site name so that we could look at the data? What is the date on which this occurred?
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by David LeBow » Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:28 pm

larrywa wrote: OB software has trouble installing Mte3 firmware correctly, trouble to sign into their forum, trouble to sign into their OpticsRe and trouble keeping connected to the OpticRE site from the Mate3. And much of this has improved from before.

You see common denominator there?
Hi Larry,

Mate3 Firmware Installation: We have seen issues where the main processor updates correctly but the Ethernet processor doesn't. Mate3 engineering isn't in my group, but I'm pretty sure that the reinstall to get both to the same version is "the fix".
azgene wrote:Maybe can't update from 2.19.0 to 3.15.1 ? What intermediate version would be needed?
2.19 to 3.15.1 should work "fine" (the exception above, well, excepted).

Back to Larry: are you having troubles signing into the forum? We did have a server-side connection problem which caused the forum and a number of other self-hosted sites to hiccup periodically, but I'm not aware of any problems now. Are you having actual sign on problems?

Are you currently having sign on problems to OpticsRE? It has been quiet on that front for a while. If you are, please let me know your Optics site name, the date/time of the issue and, ideally, a screen shot of the error message.

The Mate3 connection problems... I'll give you that one. If you look elsewhere on the forum, you will find that it has improved... for many users (but, admittedly, not yet all).

D.
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by larrywa » Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:33 pm

No, not at all!

I have just been complaining about it for the last two years for fun and to hear you report it is a new item for you every time I state it.

Even in emails the answer was "We don't support your browser", despite never reporting what browser it was and the problems exist with Android Chrome, Android Samsung browser, Win 7 IE 11, and Win10 IE 11.

Again. I just keep hitting the same user and password from my browser memory, over and over again, until the website passes it. Sometimes it takes 10-15 refreshes before the site will remember my ID. Usually less from IE.

Have a nice day.

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by sodamo » Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:18 pm

I'm with Larry with regards to the forum. It never remembers me in spite of checking box for auto logon. Whenever I want to post or reply I have to logon - translate - I will likely forego a quick reply to avoid the hassle. Suspect I'm not alone.
Doesn't matter if on my Mac or IOS device, Safari browser. Seem to recall this was OB's solution to spam. Rather unique as I don't recall this with any other forum.
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by David LeBow » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:54 am

sodamo wrote:I'm with Larry with regards to the forum. It never remembers me in spite of checking box for auto logon. Whenever I want to post or reply I have to logon - translate - I will likely forego a quick reply to avoid the hassle. Suspect I'm not alone.
Doesn't matter if on my Mac or IOS device, Safari browser. Seem to recall this was OB's solution to spam. Rather unique as I don't recall this with any other forum.
Re: Forum login

Many moons ago, OutBack settled on phbBB as our forum engine. I've used/hosted others. Good or bad, there it is and we rely on phbBB to provide this functionality for you. We keep it at recent release levels. Given the accumulated data, we won't be changing away from it. If, on some browsers in some environments, it doesn't always hold the "keep me logged in", there's truly little we can do. I use the forum as well. I find that probably 1 time out of 10 (Maybe the first time after a longer absence? Haven't analyzed it), it didn't remember and I have to log on. I've looked, there's nothing in phbBB I can set. I have Chrome save the password, so it's one extra mouse click when it does happen. It's nothing we set on purpose, it's nothing we're doing to reduce spam.

This issue cannot be improved upon and should not be characterized as "I've reported it forever and OutBack simply doesn't care or respond". I'm hoping that that's clear and I'm hoping that you understand.

For login issues in OpticsRE... whether you have reported it in the past, whether you had a satisfactory answer in the past - or not, I'm genuinely asking for your input and assistance now so that I can (admittedly, re-)address OpticsRE Login issues. That we have some control over. New staff, new impetus. Work with me or not, but please, spare me the snark.

I'm newly involved in Optics. I apologize, once again, for unsatisfactory experiences with any/all others at OutBack in the past. Not sure how much more I can do.

David
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

User avatar
intellact
Forum Czar
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:20 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by intellact » Sat Sep 10, 2016 6:46 am

I have a client who updated to 003.015.001 and suddenly it seems the Network Data Stream was corrupted. :sad:

His communication log is reporting repeated messages showing up in his data stream, such as:

Code: Select all

10:50:43 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT
Processed GS on port 1
Processed FNDC on port 2
Processed CC on port 3
Processed CC on port 4
10:50:43 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT Complete
10:50:43 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT

10:50:44 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT
Processed GS on port 1
Processed FNDC on port 2
Processed CC on port 3
Processed CC on port 4
10:50:44 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT Complete
10:50:44 Post 204 190.263.100.42 obpre.net/Pg duration   501 Timeout 15

10:50:54 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT
Processed GS on port 1
Processed FNDC on port 2
Processed CC on port 3
Processed CC on port 4
10:50:54 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT Complete
10:50:54 Post 204 190.263.100.42 obpre.net/Pg duration   452 Timeout 15

10:50:59 Post 204 190.263.100.42 obpre.net/Su duration   527 Timeout 15
10:50:59 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT
Processed GS on port 1
Processed FNDC on port 2
Processed CC on port 3
Processed CC on port 4

10:51:01 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT
Processed GS on port 1
Processed FNDC on port 2
Processed CC on port 3
Processed CC on port 4
10:51:01 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT Complete
10:51:01 SS_UPDATE_MATE_EVENT
The timestamps indicate how often this is happening. :eek:

Anyone else seen this or recognize these messages?

(It always seems to be WattPlot that finds these OutBack bugs first. I wish they would run their new firmware past their own copies of WattPlot BEFORE releasing that firmware to the public.) :wink:
Andrew Welch, creator of WattPlot

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by larrywa » Sat Sep 10, 2016 9:42 am

David LeBow wrote:
sodamo wrote:I'm with Larry with regards to the forum. It never remembers me in spite of checking box for auto logon. Whenever I want to post or reply I have to logon - translate - I will likely forego a quick reply to avoid the hassle. Suspect I'm not alone.
Doesn't matter if on my Mac or IOS device, Safari browser. Seem to recall this was OB's solution to spam. Rather unique as I don't recall this with any other forum.
Re: Forum login

Many moons ago, OutBack settled on phbBB as our forum engine. I've used/hosted others. Good or bad, there it is and we rely on phbBB to provide this functionality for you. We keep it at recent release levels. Given the accumulated data, we won't be changing away from it. If, on some browsers in some environments, it doesn't always hold the "keep me logged in", there's truly little we can do. I use the forum as well. I find that probably 1 time out of 10 (Maybe the first time after a longer absence? Haven't analyzed it), it didn't remember and I have to log on. I've looked, there's nothing in phbBB I can set. I have Chrome save the password, so it's one extra mouse click when it does happen. It's nothing we set on purpose, it's nothing we're doing to reduce spam.

This issue cannot be improved upon and should not be characterized as "I've reported it forever and OutBack simply doesn't care or respond". I'm hoping that that's clear and I'm hoping that you understand.

For login issues in OpticsRE... whether you have reported it in the past, whether you had a satisfactory answer in the past - or not, I'm genuinely asking for your input and assistance now so that I can (admittedly, re-)address OpticsRE Login issues. That we have some control over. New staff, new impetus. Work with me or not, but please, spare me the snark.

I'm newly involved in Optics. I apologize, once again, for unsatisfactory experiences with any/all others at OutBack in the past. Not sure how much more I can do.

David
This situation should not be characterised by "I have reported it and we are working on it" for the last two years. Unbelievable!

Cripes! just hot the login withthe same user and password a few dozen times. Sooner or later it connects almost every session.

Fire some people and get knowledgeable communications help. OB is going down the tubes with this becoming more public everywhere.


"Yeah, OB made good hardware way back, but couldn't back it up with supporting software and the crowd went to the dazzling lights companies".

"Such a shame, that was"

"Oh well, The alternative energy fad is over now!"

User avatar
intellact
Forum Czar
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:20 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by intellact » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:23 pm

larrywa wrote:Cripes! just hot the login with the same user and password a few dozen times. Sooner or later it connects almost every session.
I sympathize with your frustration. :sad: That being said, you should probably start a different thread for web forum issues. :wink:

We're hoping this thread can focus some attention on Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 issues. :smile:
Andrew Welch, creator of WattPlot

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by larrywa » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:27 pm

intellact wrote:
larrywa wrote:Cripes! just hot the login with the same user and password a few dozen times. Sooner or later it connects almost every session.
I sympathize with your frustration. :sad: That being said, you should probably start a different thread for web forum issues. :wink:

We're hoping this thread can focus some attention on Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 issues. :smile:
I was referring to the OpticsRE website login and the Forum Login in this thread I started. =D>

All OB website stuff has problems. ](*,)

outrigger999
Forum Guru
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by outrigger999 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:49 pm

I do think this is related to firmware rev 003.015.001 since I haven't seen this before...Whenever I have the "Auto Reboot Interval" set to some interval, then I get gaps in my OpticsRE data on that interval. I haven't seen this before but the data isn't saved and a gap appears in my graph which is very annoying. Anyone have a solution for this?

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by David LeBow » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:08 pm

outrigger999 wrote:Whenever I have the "Auto Reboot Interval" set to some interval, then I get gaps in my OpticsRE data on that interval. I haven't seen this before but the data isn't saved and a gap appears in my graph which is very annoying. Anyone have a solution for this?
Does your system show that a reboot actually happened?

I have seen data gaps when reboot is disabled as well. I'm not sure that we've yet seen a correlation.
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

outrigger999
Forum Guru
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by outrigger999 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:36 pm

It's a good point. Up until now I've been running with it ON and just turned it off so I can tell you in a few days. I hope that you're trying to fix this issue since having a complete set of data is partially what Optics is all about.

User avatar
David LeBow
OutBack Management
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Bellingham, WA

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by David LeBow » Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:40 pm

We are absolutely trying to solve this. It appears to be a Mate3 issue, but we haven't yet been able to isolate the issue.

D.
David LeBow
Sr. Director, Software Engineering


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by sodamo » Sat Sep 17, 2016 12:04 am

Somehow I expect this all to be "fixed" with the release of Mate 4 which we will be entitled to get for just a few hundred dollars, but no trade-in :(
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

larrywa
Forum Guru
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:25 am
My RE system: FlexPower Two
2 x GVFX3648s,
2 x FM80s,
FNDC w/3 shunts,
Mate3 v3.015.005 (works excellent!)
Hub 10.3,
PV:1000W east@45, 600W west@45, 2400W south@19 deg.
Battery:48v @ 130Ahr Crown batteries, deep cycle <$380 for 6.25kWh

ISY994i HA, Insteon, X10, Philips Hue, MiLight bulbs & RGBW strips
WebControl 8 as weather station stuffing
ISY994 variables via REST interface

Raspberry Pi3 x 2, Pi1 B+

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by larrywa » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:19 pm

My Mate3 v3.015.001 didn't skip updating the OpticsRE database before the OpticsRE v3.001 was installed.

It may have skipped data maybe once per week, and now it skips data about 3-4 times per day.

timmartin
Forum Guru
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:31 am
My RE system: ...
Sharp 120W Panels (12)
SunPerfect 230W Panels (9)
Whisper 100 Wind Turbine
Outback FM60 charge controller
Outback FM80 charge controller
Outback VFX3648 inverter/chargers (2)
Outback FlexNet DC
CALB CA400 LiFePO4 3.2V batteries
(32 cells paired together, 1 string = 51.2V 800Ah)

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by timmartin » Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:46 pm

intellact wrote:
Anyone else seen this or recognize these messages?

(It always seems to be WattPlot that finds these OutBack bugs first. I wish they would run their new firmware past their own copies of WattPlot BEFORE releasing that firmware to the public.) :wink:
Yup. I saw it the day I updated. It cause some headaches and exposed a bug where my logging system would fall through and try to post updates every second even if configured for much larger intervals.

Fun fact, I updated my parser to deal with the extra junk in the datastream, but in the meantime this is now the easiest time to also capture the mate3 local clock time stamp!

sodamo
Forum Czar
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:55 am
My RE system: Totally off grid - Hamakua side, Big Island, Hi

36 Trina 280 & 16 Phono 250 in 48 volt array (fixed) 14080w
Radians GG8048/GS4048 w GSLCs
4 FM 80 charge controllers
Hub 10.3
FNDC w/3 shunts
Mate 3s
OpticsRE - MMKL - Ninole Hi
12 SimpliPhi 3.8
14Kw Kohler 14RESA Propane

Charging Only
2FX3048T
Hub
FNDC. - shared shunt feeds from Radian FNDC
Mate 3s
10Kw MEP 803a Military gen

Honda EU7000i

Davis VantagePro2 Wx Station
On line at: https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KHININOL2
Location: Ninole, Hi

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by sodamo » Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:15 pm

Additionally, the on screen data may not be accurate. Between the "partial Connection" and the timing of various elements I am almost never confident I'm seeing the actual status unless I've done several screen refreshes beyond the partial connection and the time shown is correct. Both annoying and time consuming. Currently, I have my generator set on must run. I can access OpticsRE when on and not see gen producing or still see it when off. Usually the Device Map and Event History will be correct even if Dashboard isn't. Sometimes I'll access these screens as a double check. I can understand a slight delay, maybe even up to a minute, but current delay is too long IMHO. I just don't remember this being an issue last year (jun 15).
David
Please visit http://vacation.ninolehawaii.com

User avatar
intellact
Forum Czar
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:20 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mate3 Rev 003.015.001 Reports

Post by intellact » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:04 am

timmartin wrote:
intellact wrote:
Anyone else seen this or recognize these messages?

(It always seems to be WattPlot that finds these OutBack bugs first. I wish they would run their new firmware past their own copies of WattPlot BEFORE releasing that firmware to the public.) :wink:
Yup. I saw it the day I updated. It cause some headaches and exposed a bug where my logging system would fall through and try to post updates every second even if configured for much larger intervals.

Fun fact, I updated my parser to deal with the extra junk in the datastream, but in the meantime this is now the easiest time to also capture the mate3 local clock time stamp!
At last - after a second email to OutBack, Sandra Herrera confirmed that they are aware of the problem and promised a fix in the next release. =D>

Until the issue is fixed, WattPlot clients have two options: roll back to an earlier firmware or switch from UDP/IP communications to Modbus/TCP communications with their MATE3 - WattPlot supports both! \:D/ (See the updated User's Guide for details.)

By the way, I maintain a reference site for OutBack firmware releases. Many clients find this quite useful. Please help me keep it up-to-date. :smile:
Andrew Welch, creator of WattPlot

Post Reply