Mate3s and SDHC cards

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by raysun » Tue May 19, 2020 9:49 am

My Mate3s is running the latest firmware, which I Ioaded a while back using a 16gb SDHC card. No problems there, the Mate recognized the card and upgraded using the Update Firmware menu option.

I left the card in place so that the logs would be written to it, as I had in the past.

Two days ago the Mate was not behaving normally after a system shutdown, and I suspected corrupt firmware, so went to reload from the SDHC card. It could not be read and the Mate reported no SD card was installed.

Thinking the card was damaged, I reformatted another 16gb SDHC card FAT32, copied the firmware to it and inserted it in the Mate, which returned the same no SD card inserted error.

I power cycled the Mate a couple of times to no avail. Lastly, I power cycled the Mate while pressing the UP key. The bootloader came up, read the SDHC card, and loaded the firmware.

With the Mate back to normal function, I tested the SDHC card again, still could not be read.

I've ordered a couple of 8GB SD cards and expect them to work. (As soon as they arrive, I'm sure I'll be able to find the box full of old SD cards I have laying around...)

AFIK the SDHC card worked normally on the Mate3s under prior firmware releases.

User avatar
IanMcCluskey
OutBack Product Management
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:16 pm

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by IanMcCluskey » Tue May 26, 2020 9:17 am

Hey Raysun, I have not heard of this issue before, but I will check for you.
Ian McCluskey
Product Manager


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by raysun » Tue May 26, 2020 9:32 am

IanMcCluskey wrote:
Tue May 26, 2020 9:17 am
Hey Raysun, I have not heard of this issue before, but I will check for you.
Gracias.

User avatar
IanMcCluskey
OutBack Product Management
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:16 pm

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by IanMcCluskey » Thu May 28, 2020 11:07 am

Hi Raysun, partial update here. Our last test with an SDHC card (Kingston SCHC class 4) was successful. We should have capacity to test SDHC again on firmware 1.4.3 next week.
Ian McCluskey
Product Manager


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by raysun » Thu May 28, 2020 11:15 am

IanMcCluskey wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 11:07 am
Hi Raysun, partial update here. Our last test with an SDHC card (Kingston SCHC class 4) was successful. We should have capacity to test SDHC again on firmware 1.4.3 next week.
Cool, thanks. Guess I'll try an SDHC card that I wasn't using to prop up one corner of my beer mug.

JRHill
Forum Czar
Posts: 929
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:12 am
My RE system: VFX 3648, FM80, 3k panels, Mate3, FNDC (retired), 8ea L16 mixed. Wonderful wife.

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by JRHill » Thu May 28, 2020 12:00 pm

Curious question: If one wants to move up to a higher capacity card, how is that done? I thought I was limited to a 4Gb card with the Mate3. So maybe not. How do I keep more/longer data?

BTW, I just scanned the M3 card. It had errors. It was half full. TG for OpticsRE.

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by raysun » Thu May 28, 2020 12:11 pm

JRHill wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 12:00 pm
Curious question: If one wants to move up to a higher capacity card, how is that done? I thought I was limited to a 4Gb card with the Mate3. So maybe not. How do I keep more/longer data?

BTW, I just scanned the M3 card. It had errors. It was half full. TG for OpticsRE.
That is a very interesting question. It never occurred to me to consider it until I was today years old.

FAT32 under the traditional specification is limited to 4GB, but on SDHC cards, 32GB is supported. The address table is fixed, so perhaps the block size is 8X larger.

JRHill
Forum Czar
Posts: 929
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:12 am
My RE system: VFX 3648, FM80, 3k panels, Mate3, FNDC (retired), 8ea L16 mixed. Wonderful wife.

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by JRHill » Thu May 28, 2020 4:06 pm

raysun wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 12:11 pm
JRHill wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 12:00 pm
Curious question: If one wants to move up to a higher capacity card, how is that done? I thought I was limited to a 4Gb card with the Mate3. So maybe not. How do I keep more/longer data?

BTW, I just scanned the M3 card. It had errors. It was half full. TG for OpticsRE.
That is a very interesting question. It never occurred to me to consider it until I was today years old.

FAT32 under the traditional specification is limited to 4GB, but on SDHC cards, 32GB is supported. The address table is fixed, so perhaps the block size is 8X larger.
I can't relate to FAT32. I was slim in those days. But I'm now at FAT64.

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by raysun » Thu May 28, 2020 6:02 pm

JRHill wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 4:06 pm
raysun wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 12:11 pm
JRHill wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 12:00 pm
Curious question: If one wants to move up to a higher capacity card, how is that done? I thought I was limited to a 4Gb card with the Mate3. So maybe not. How do I keep more/longer data?

BTW, I just scanned the M3 card. It had errors. It was half full. TG for OpticsRE.
That is a very interesting question. It never occurred to me to consider it until I was today years old.

FAT32 under the traditional specification is limited to 4GB, but on SDHC cards, 32GB is supported. The address table is fixed, so perhaps the block size is 8X larger.
I can't relate to FAT32. I was slim in those days. But I'm now at FAT64.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Yep, FAT can also stand for Food Allocation Table. The allocation blocks get bigger too.

User avatar
IanMcCluskey
OutBack Product Management
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:16 pm

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by IanMcCluskey » Mon Jun 01, 2020 8:45 am

OutBack only recommends up to 8GB SD cards for the MATE3S. This is mentioned briefly in section M-2 of the programming guide for data logging.
Ian McCluskey
Product Manager


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by raysun » Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:20 am

IanMcCluskey wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 8:45 am
OutBack only recommends up to 8GB SD cards for the MATE3S. This is mentioned briefly in section M-2 of the programming guide for data logging.
8 GB it is.

Thanks Ian!

thewizz
Forum Whiz
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 1:06 pm
My RE system: Location: Port-Au-Prince Haiti
34 - Toppoint Model: JTM245-96M panels, 245W
10 - Yingli Solar Model: YL405D-36B 1/2, 405W
9 - TrinaSolar Model: TSM-270PA14, 270W
6 - Vmaxpower Model:MUL-6M-330P-72, 330W panels.
(Note: TrinaSolar and Vmaxsolar panels are combined in one Midnight Solar Combiner)
3 - MidNite Solar Inc Photovotaic Combiners
1 - Suntree Combiner Box
4 - FLEXmax 80 controllers
1 - GS8084A Inverter/Charger
1 - GSLC Load Center
8 - Simpliphi Pi3.8-48V
1 - Kubota GL11000 Genset (approximativ 6500hrs)
1 - Mate3
1 - 10 port hub
1 - Flexnet DC Battery Monitor
Mini Grid
Contact:

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by thewizz » Thu Jul 30, 2020 9:50 am

I know I'm a little late to the discussion but I am using a 64GB card with my Mate3 with no problems. Had to format it using FAT, which on the my MAC it doesn't give me the option of Fat32 or 64 so I'm not 100% sure which it is.

The original 2GB SD card was somehow corrupted and became unusable and the 64 was the only thing I had, so I used it and it hasn't been an issue.

Mate3 does have latest firmware installed... 003.019.001

BTW... My card is a Scandisk SDXC card.

raysun
Forum Emperor
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower Two: (2) FXR3048A, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
SimpliPhi 48-3.8 (6 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 strings of 2 in series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings of 2 in series)
Honda EU7000is gas fuel generator

Re: Mate3s and SDHC cards

Post by raysun » Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:03 am

thewizz wrote:
Thu Jul 30, 2020 9:50 am
I know I'm a little late to the discussion but I am using a 64GB card with my Mate3 with no problems. Had to format it using FAT, which on the my MAC it doesn't give me the option of Fat32 or 64 so I'm not 100% sure which it is.

The original 2GB SD card was somehow corrupted and became unusable and the 64 was the only thing I had, so I used it and it hasn't been an issue.

Mate3 does have latest firmware installed... 003.019.001

BTW... My card is a Scandisk SDXC card.
I used a similar card on my Mate3. The Mate3s seems to be more finicky.

Post Reply