Grid Sell Voltage Setpoint Stuck

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
sparksalot
Forum Guru
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:31 am
My RE system: FLEXpower TWO VFXR3648A Grid-Tied and Battery Backup Hybrid, Mate3s
Using Two Midnite 200 Classic Charge Controllers

Traction battery FLA 48 volt 805Ahr.

32 SolarWorld 245w mono, 2x-4S-4P
6 REC 320w on micro-inverters

Grid Sell Voltage Setpoint Stuck

Post by sparksalot » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:30 am

Sell voltage setpoint in Mate3s has no effect to lower the voltage, battery voltage too high 55-56volts, Help!

fcwlp
Forum Guru
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:40 am
My RE system: GS8048A, FM80 w/3,600 W PV Fixed, FM80 w/2,700W on Zomeworks tracker, Mate3, 24 Trojan 2V L16 1100AH @ C20, Grid-Tied with Kohler 14RESA LPG Generator and MEP-803 Diesel if needed
I also install and maintain grid-tied and off-grid systems, details will be given for these system if required
Location: 80 miles NE of Phoenix at 5500'

Re: Grid Sell Voltage Setpoint Stuck

Post by fcwlp » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:20 pm

Please provide your absorb voltage, absorb time, float voltage, float time and sell voltage parameters. An OpticsRE graph showing the battery V, Solar, and Grid Out would be helpful if you have OpticsRE.

pss
Forum Guru
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system: 8330 watts in three strings, Flexmax 60 x 3, Radian 8048A, GSLC load center, Mate 3S, Hub 10.3, FN-DC and 900 Amp, 48V Trojan T105-RE battery bank.

Re: Grid Sell Voltage Setpoint Stuck

Post by pss » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:55 pm

The sell voltage has nothing to do with the battery voltage settings. Only your charge controller settings and inverter charger settings control the battery voltages you should observe. Also, remember battery voltage is really only accurately reported at the battery terminals using a meter on them, not by Optics. You will see Mate 3S, Inverter, charge controller and FlexNet all show different voltages. The sell voltage is the voltage the batteries must achieve before selling to the grid can take place. So simply make certain your inverter and charge controllers have settings for your batteries provided by the manufacturer. Then if you notice that the voltages seem inaccurate, measure at the terrminals.

sparksalot
Forum Guru
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:31 am
My RE system: FLEXpower TWO VFXR3648A Grid-Tied and Battery Backup Hybrid, Mate3s
Using Two Midnite 200 Classic Charge Controllers

Traction battery FLA 48 volt 805Ahr.

32 SolarWorld 245w mono, 2x-4S-4P
6 REC 320w on micro-inverters

Re: Grid Sell Voltage Setpoint Stuck

Post by sparksalot » Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:48 pm

Thanks for the replies!
Sorry I did forget to add this info...
Responses may miss the mark as I have the charger portion of the OB inverter/ charger switched off always...and my separate charge controllers are NOT Outback charge controllers so Optics cannot ever see them anyways.

Always in the past as I dialed down the "sell voltage" the battery voltage responded in kind.
Now I can dial down the"sell voltage" and the battery voltage does not respond what so ever.

sparksalot
Forum Guru
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:31 am
My RE system: FLEXpower TWO VFXR3648A Grid-Tied and Battery Backup Hybrid, Mate3s
Using Two Midnite 200 Classic Charge Controllers

Traction battery FLA 48 volt 805Ahr.

32 SolarWorld 245w mono, 2x-4S-4P
6 REC 320w on micro-inverters

Re: Grid Sell Voltage Setpoint Stuck

Post by sparksalot » Sat Mar 28, 2020 12:16 pm

pss wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:55 pm
The sell voltage has nothing to do with the battery voltage settings. Only your charge controller settings and inverter charger settings control the battery voltages you should observe. Also, remember battery voltage is really only accurately reported at the battery terminals using a meter on them, not by Optics. You will see Mate 3S, Inverter, charge controller and FlexNet all show different voltages. The sell voltage is the voltage the batteries must achieve before selling to the grid can take place. So simply make certain your inverter and charge controllers have settings for your batteries provided by the manufacturer. Then if you notice that the voltages seem inaccurate, measure at the terrminals.
Thanks for the reply.

My concern has nothing to do with DC voltage accuracy...or maybe it does and I'm not looking in the right place???...

fcwlp
Forum Guru
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:40 am
My RE system: GS8048A, FM80 w/3,600 W PV Fixed, FM80 w/2,700W on Zomeworks tracker, Mate3, 24 Trojan 2V L16 1100AH @ C20, Grid-Tied with Kohler 14RESA LPG Generator and MEP-803 Diesel if needed
I also install and maintain grid-tied and off-grid systems, details will be given for these system if required
Location: 80 miles NE of Phoenix at 5500'

Re: Grid Sell Voltage Setpoint Stuck

Post by fcwlp » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:50 pm

sparksalot wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:48 pm
Always in the past as I dialed down the "sell voltage" the battery voltage responded in kind.
Now I can dial down the"sell voltage" and the battery voltage does not respond what so ever.
What are the Midnite Solar CCs settings for charging as I previously asked. They are holding the voltage at the higher level for some reason and that is the area that you should be looking at. The OB inverter's sell V setting just allows the inverter to sell power if the battery V is above this value..

Post Reply