Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power
Post Reply
sdgustafsson
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:49 am
My RE system: VFX3524
FM60 x 2
FN-DC, Hub4, Mate3
Batteries Trojan T-105+ x 8

Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by sdgustafsson » Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:03 am

What do I need to get this repaired? Having it and now it's gone is a real pain in the a**

I have opened a support ticket on Sept 11 and I have not heard any back from Outback.
Has anyone had this problem before and can tell me how they got it fixed?

Thank you!
Seth

zenotec
Forum Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:49 am
My RE system: OB Radian 8048A, Mate3, 2x FM100 Flexnet DC, 24x SunXtender 915T
Contact:

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by zenotec » Thu May 07, 2020 3:18 pm

Mine just up and died too. Have you had any success with yours?

User avatar
IanMcCluskey
OutBack Product Management
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:16 pm

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by IanMcCluskey » Fri May 08, 2020 8:44 am

Is it in warranty?
Ian McCluskey
Product Manager


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

zenotec
Forum Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:49 am
My RE system: OB Radian 8048A, Mate3, 2x FM100 Flexnet DC, 24x SunXtender 915T
Contact:

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by zenotec » Tue May 12, 2020 7:26 am

IanMcCluskey wrote:
Fri May 08, 2020 8:44 am
Is it in warranty?
I'm not sure yet. I'm trying to work through the installer to have it replaced. Also, it appears to be a Mate3s, not a Mate3. Not sure if that changes anything. I've power cycled the Mate3s, I've checked the Ethernet cable and found it to be in working order. I've plugged it into a few different switches, all known to be good. With everything going on right now, the installer has been pretty flakey about getting on top of this. Please help.

User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
4 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
2 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 4 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
54 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, 2 x VFX3648,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
1 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by EA6LE-ONE » Tue May 12, 2020 7:44 am

Try first to use a good Ethernet patch cord. the patch cords that are coming from outback for hub are not good.

zenotec
Forum Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:49 am
My RE system: OB Radian 8048A, Mate3, 2x FM100 Flexnet DC, 24x SunXtender 915T
Contact:

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by zenotec » Tue May 12, 2020 7:48 am

EA6LE-ONE wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 7:44 am
Try first to use a good Ethernet patch cord. the patch cords that are coming from outback for hub are not good.
Thanks for your suggestion. The installer custom built this cable and I've tested it with both my Ethernet cable tester and a laptop. Both confirmed the cable and the switch are good.

User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Guru
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
4 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
2 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 4 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
54 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, 2 x VFX3648,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
1 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by EA6LE-ONE » Tue May 12, 2020 8:51 am

the Ethernet cable from outback worked with other devices but it didn't worked with the MATE3s, was keep losing connection. they are cat5 but might be made with aluminum instead of copper.

User avatar
IanMcCluskey
OutBack Product Management
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:16 pm

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by IanMcCluskey » Tue May 12, 2020 9:10 am

Try downloading the latest firmware from the website and placing it onto the root of the MATE3S SD Card. Then, put the SD card into the MATE3S and hold the "Up" button until you see it go into bootloader mode. If the ethernet port is frozen, this may unfreeze it. If not, file a case with tech support and they will swap it out for a new one.
Ian McCluskey
Product Manager


Alpha Technologies Inc. / OutBack Power Technologies
3767 Alpha Way Bellingham WA 98226 USA
http://www.alpha.com

mdanley34
Forum Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:46 am
My RE system: 80 260 watt solar world panels, 6 VFXR3648 running 3 phase, 24 Trojan 1110AH 2V cells, 1 12kw chineese inverter for the house.

Re: Mate3 Ethernet port DEAD!

Post by mdanley34 » Sat May 16, 2020 11:00 am

Mine dead, did everything said, tech support referee to warranty dept, never heard, mailed them again, never heard back, mine never worked so gave up after years trying. I have a big 3 phase outback system running an entire farm off grid and would have liked the remote features but oh well.

Post Reply