Can't access settings on Mate3

Mate3 and Mate3s communications devices for Outback Power

Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby rbreen on Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:13 pm

Hi there -

System has been working fine for years, recently started having battery issues and wanted to look at settings, but I can't access them! Pushing the lock button doesn't bring up the password screen, though if I hold it down the Mate reboots, but still no way to access the Lock screen or settings. Any idea what could be going on here? Thought about updating firmware, but can't get that far since the lock button does nothing except reboot.

Any ideas? Of course it's up in a remote location, so trying to gather as much info and whatever tools I might need to get this going before I head up again.

thanks!
rich
rbreen
Forum Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:07 pm
My RE system: VFX3524, Flexmax 60, Helios 250 panels x 6, 12 x 2V 915AH Concord Sun Xtender PVX1950T AGMs.

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby pss on Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:18 am

Can I assume that if you can't access the settings on the mate 3, and the location is remote, you have no Optics RE access either?

If that is the case, it would be important to know if the unit display is normal when view or is also corrupt. Do any of the other buttons work normally such as the battery button, inverter button etc. If you cannot unlock the unit, even after power cycling because the proper menu is not presented to you, and you are certain the hub is working properly and the Mate 3 is plugged into the correct ethernet port of the Hub (mistakes can happen by accident), then you are going to have to replace/repair the unit due to corrupt firmware. I wonder if it is possible to re-program a mate 3 using direct connection to a PC via an ethernet cable? Might want to call Outback support on that one. If all else fails, bring up a substitute mate 3. Good luck.
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system: 8330 watts in three strings, Flexmax 60 x 3, Radian 8048A, GSLC load center, Mate 3S, Hub 10.3, FN-DC and 900 Amp, 48V Trojan T105-RE battery bank.

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby rbreen on Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:35 am

All display / data functions work properly on the unit; I can access all normal top-level screens, view history, etc. Just can't pull up the lock screen to get to settings.
rbreen
Forum Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:07 pm
My RE system: VFX3524, Flexmax 60, Helios 250 panels x 6, 12 x 2V 915AH Concord Sun Xtender PVX1950T AGMs.

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby pss on Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:38 am

If everything else works fine, and even after a hard power off for like a minute to let capacitors discharge some, then upon re-power, it works correctly except for that button not functioning to access the lock screen then either the circuit board that the button is soldered too is bad or the firmware corrupted.
pss
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:40 am
My RE system: 8330 watts in three strings, Flexmax 60 x 3, Radian 8048A, GSLC load center, Mate 3S, Hub 10.3, FN-DC and 900 Amp, 48V Trojan T105-RE battery bank.

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby rbreen on Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:14 pm

Thanks for the ideas; clearly not just a bad button - it's now stuck in a permanent boot loop, which seems to be a problem others have had. I think my only recourse is Outback Tech Support right now - I've attempted to open a ticket several times in the last 5 days but have yet to hear anything from them - hopefully soon!
rbreen
Forum Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:07 pm
My RE system: VFX3524, Flexmax 60, Helios 250 panels x 6, 12 x 2V 915AH Concord Sun Xtender PVX1950T AGMs.

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby Kurt Lundquist on Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:48 am

If you have an SD card remove it. I've seen where they can get corrupt and cause the boot loop that you are describing.

-Kurt
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/
User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
 
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
Location: Arlington, WA
My RE system: VFX3524, Mate3, 200Ah 24V AGM Battery Bank

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby rbreen on Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:54 am

Thanks Kurt -

Here's what I've tried:
New Cat5 cable
Plug directly into Flexmax 60 and VFX3524 inverter
Tried with and without SD card inserted.
Tried with old firmware on SD card and a second known good SD card with latest firmware.
Tried powering up with "Up" button held down
Tried powering up with "Port" button held down (there are some posts on the forum that say the "Up" button forces a firmware update, and others say holding the "Port" button forces the update).
Replaced CR2032 battery inside unit.

Behavior is exactly the same in all of these scenarios; constant boot loop.
rbreen
Forum Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:07 pm
My RE system: VFX3524, Flexmax 60, Helios 250 panels x 6, 12 x 2V 915AH Concord Sun Xtender PVX1950T AGMs.

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby Kurt Lundquist on Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:05 am

Ok, then I suggest during the next full moon place the Mate3 outside within a circle of 6 quartz crystals while gently chanting Ohm for 600,000 milliseconds. If that doesn't work I'm stumped!

-Kurt

PS: I'll see if I can ping the support group for you. Do you have a support ticket number?
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/
User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
 
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
Location: Arlington, WA
My RE system: VFX3524, Mate3, 200Ah 24V AGM Battery Bank

Re: Can't access settings on Mate3

Postby rbreen on Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:09 am

Thanks Kurt! I'll see if I can scare up some crystals and maybe a garland of garlic...

I don't have a support number - the web portal request appears to finish ok with the message that my request has been submitted, but then that's the last I've heard about both attempts.

Is there some other way an end user is supposed to request support?

thanks again,
Rich
rbreen
Forum Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:07 pm
My RE system: VFX3524, Flexmax 60, Helios 250 panels x 6, 12 x 2V 915AH Concord Sun Xtender PVX1950T AGMs.


Return to Mate3 / Mate3s

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest