Flexmax 60 for wind?

Discussion about the FM100, FM80, and FM60 Charge Controllers

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
Ryan
Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:12 am

Flexmax 60 for wind?

Post by Ryan » Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:58 pm

Can a FM-60 be used for a small (400W) wind turbine? we are using a FM80 for the solar side of things and would like to use the same controls (Mate2) to monitor the wind turbine. I would rather use Outback than go to another brand for the wind turbine. Any thoughts?

gww
Forum Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:30 pm
My RE system: 1. installed
2. 5640 watts mx panels
3. 2 axial flux Hugh Piggot 500 watt turbines
5. 2 gvfx 3648 inverters
6. 1 mx 60 charge controller, 1 fm 80 and 1 morningstar ts60 pmw
7. outback mount, panel and sub panel
8. mate
9. 4 place hub
10. couple more cc, doc wattson
11. 800 ah, 48 volt fork truck battery

Re: Flexmax 60 for wind?

Post by gww » Fri Sep 19, 2014 6:08 am

I have not tried it. The only other brand that I hear about is midnite. The thing that midnite has that outback doesn't is the abilitie to program your actual turbine voltage range to match the charge controllers use of it.
Hope this helps.
gww

caucau20
Forum Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:31 pm
My RE system: flexmax 80

Re: Flexmax 60 for wind?

Post by caucau20 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:38 pm

Hello

I have experimented with the wind and FM80 at the beginging runs the FM fine it finds the perfect mppt point and it charges good the battery, but this is for about 5 min, after that it starts to find the best mppt point and ist start to search the voltage and amperage, but the wind is the wind here is it and here is it not so the FM can not find the optimal point and its going down with the voltage, at the end keeps the FM just a litle bit more voltage at on the battery, it charges good but that is not the optimum, it is designed for solar modules not for wind. and the second thing is when you got wind it starts like a new day and counts the KWh at new. I hope you anderstand my comment. And sorry for my english im a latvian.

User avatar
Kurt Lundquist
Alpha Energy Engineering
Posts: 1447
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 7:23 am
My RE system: VFX3524, Mate3, 200Ah 24V AGM Battery Bank
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: Flexmax 60 for wind?

Post by Kurt Lundquist » Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:54 am

The FM controller is not rated or designed to be used with wind. Using the FM as a direct wind controller will void your warranty.

If the wind output voltage matches the battery nominal voltage you could use the FM AUX port with a solid state relay and a diversion load to protect the battery bank from over charging. The wind output would be tied directly to the battery bank. Otherwise you will need to install a controller designed for wind.

Either way I would ask the turbine manufacturer if they have a controller recommendation or concerns about directly wiring the turbine to the battery with a diversion load.
Kurt Lundquist
Renewable Energy Project Engineer
http://alphaenergy.us/

mike 850
Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:01 pm
My RE system: 3,7Kwp,Outback FM 80(1,9) & FM 60(1,8), 24V/1000Ah Hawker+Northstar(AGM),
Silverline Global 24/3000 inverter, BMV-700, homemade control system.
Aux. 3x680w dump load/ 8.5m²heatpipes
Location: Hameln/Germany

Re: Flexmax 60 for wind?

Post by mike 850 » Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:28 am

if your battery bank is big enough just conect the turbine (safer with fuses at both ends!) to the battery .
you wont need a dump load and the batterys regulate the voltage.
i`v done the same thing and the output from my turbine500w, most i`v ever seen is 9a/300wwhich in my case (60m cable) is just enough to hold a float charge.
mike

gww
Forum Guru
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:30 pm
My RE system: 1. installed
2. 5640 watts mx panels
3. 2 axial flux Hugh Piggot 500 watt turbines
5. 2 gvfx 3648 inverters
6. 1 mx 60 charge controller, 1 fm 80 and 1 morningstar ts60 pmw
7. outback mount, panel and sub panel
8. mate
9. 4 place hub
10. couple more cc, doc wattson
11. 800 ah, 48 volt fork truck battery

Re: Flexmax 60 for wind?

Post by gww » Sat Nov 01, 2014 6:45 am

I have a 48volt 800 ah battery bank and I would say in most intances mike is probly correct that loads and battery will be enough to eat a small enough turbines out put. I don't believe it is a safe bet though. I have only two 500 watt turbines and one is on a 40' pole and is pretty sheltered and there have been a few occasions that I had to shut the turbines down due to them raising the battery voltage to dangerous levels. I have a 2000 watt water heater that kicks on at absorb voltage to help control this. It gets hot enough to turn off once in a while and I have to shut the turbines down. If you get a day of 20/40 mph wind it will override a charged battery and you need a dump load. I run, myself with out one, but even watching closely have seen the battery get to eq levels and know it would not be safe to let run without oversite unless I don't mind buying a new battery or rebuilding the shed if it burns down. 99% percent of the time mike would be correct but I have seen differrent a couple of times.

gww

Post Reply