To extend or not to extend (float) that is the question...

Discussion about the FM100, FM80, and FM60 Charge Controllers

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

emcvay
Forum Member
My RE system: System1 - 3 205w 12v panels in series (FE3's), Morningstar TriStar MPPT controller
System2 - 6 305w 24v panels in series/parallel (3 sets of 2 panels), Outback FlexMax 80 MPPT controller
Batteries -- 12 6v GCB's @ 220AH ea (24v config)
Aims 4000 watt pure sine inverter

To extend or not to extend (float) that is the question...

Post by emcvay » Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:28 am

Hi All,

I've been running an off-grid system for 8 years now and recently upgraded my system with 6 new panels and a Flexmax 80 controller and am pondering some setting changes and a limitation (as I see it) on the FM80 controller....hoping you can help me out.

OK, here is the scenario: I was originally running 3 205w 12v panels (FE3's I believe they are) in series feeding a Morningstar Tri-Star 80 MPPT controller. I was getting a max of around 16.5amps of charging power at 29.6v going into my 12 6v GCB's in a 24vdc system. Overnight I typically used about 45AH and as a newby to off-grid systems didn't change much on the controller which had a 1.5h Absorb and a 1.5h Absorb extension if the battery bank dropped to 25vdc or less. Float was set to 1h and I believe there was a float extension allowed also but I never paid much attention.