Amps decrease with PV8?

OutBack's newest innovation in balance-of-system components

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Amps decrease with PV8?

Postby Califoregonian on Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:34 pm

Hi, I'm fairly new to PV, so hopefully I won't sound too dumb. I just got the PV8 combiner box, and have 5 100w panels connected to it. I have two strings of two panels and the fifth panel is on its own. The PV8 seems to have cost me 10 amps somewhere along the way and I can't figure out where.
The background: I'm an RVer, and I started out with one panel and then added two more as I slowly grew. When I had three panels, I used a three to one connecter to reduce the panels to one pair of cables, and it worked fine. Each panel makes about 5 amps and as expected the three panel string made about 15 amps total. Later I added another pair of panels, connected as a string, and combined those cables with the 3-panel string to make one pair of cables going into the controller. All was well, and as expected I could make about 25 amps, with the FM80 cranking out up to 35 charging amps. I knew that the combiner box was kind of required, so I got it.
I connected the two panel string as normal, but the change I did make was to make the 3-panel string into a two-panel string, leaving the extra panel on its own breaker, as I mentioned above. The problem is very apparent and very immediate: I can only make about 20 amps total, and only about 22 charging amps into the bank. Somewhere I've lost up to 10 amps of power! What did I do wrong?
Thanks for any advice, it is truly appreciated!
Califoregonian: what you get when you cross a Californian and an Oregonian.
Califoregonian

My RE system: FM80, 6x100w Renogy panels, 3x125 ah AGM Vmax bank, 2000w Samlex PST, Flexware PV8. 12v system installed in an RV.

Re: Amps decrease with PV8?

Postby Kent Osterberg on Sun Apr 19, 2015 5:51 pm