Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

OutBack's newest innovation in balance-of-system components

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

Postby stevetull on Sat Apr 18, 2015 10:20 am

I've gotten my second inverter installed, as well as a shiny new X240. This may not be the best day to test run our only 240v load, a mini split air conditioner, as it's a bit rainy and overcast. Maybe tomorrow. Anyway, I've gotten everything hooked up and running, stacking is Outback series stack with autotransformer.

After energizing system and programming the Mate and the FX's, checking the MX settings and resetting the FNDC, I gradually added loads. Everything was happily chugging along in HBX mode, (using grid power). I did have a dehumidifier running, I then fire up the microwave to warm my coffee and all goes dark. I switched all loads to direct grid power and reset the X240 breaker.

I then tried to duplicate to problem and finally when I turned on a pretty big food dehydrator I was successful in kicking the breaker again. According to my ten circuit transfer switch which has separate amp meters for each of the two hot legs, I did not do a very good job in balancing the loads between the legs. I'm correcting that now.

My questions are, why would the X240 breaker kick? Could it be due to an imbalanced load? And then, should turning the X240 off turn off all AC output? I have the X240's red L1 wire connected to the red AC out bus bar and the black L2 wire connected to the black AC out bus bar. Both whites go to the white neutral bus bar. This is according to Outback stacking instructions.

Thank you for your help.

Steve
stevetull
OutBack Expert
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:40 am
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 MX60, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
18 Kyocera KC-175GT facing south at 30 degrees
12 Astronergy CHSM6610P-270 facing southwest @ 10 degrees
Total of ~6.4Kw.
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
eu2000i
OpticsRE site: Home

Re: Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

Postby Kent Osterberg on Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:51 pm

With a single inverter, the X240 only provides power to one leg, so that's all you loose when the X240 breaker opens. With a dual inverter setup you might not loose power at all -- if the breaker opens because of a problem with the transformer, both inverters can continue to operate normally.
Last edited by Kent Osterberg on Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kent Osterberg
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 11:01 pm
Location: Cove, Oregon
My RE system: SMA Sunny Boy 2500 with eight Mobil Solar Ra 180 modules

Re: Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

Postby stevetull on Sun Apr 19, 2015 7:49 pm

Our system is an Outback series stacked with X240 two VFX3648 inverter system. When the X240 25 amp breaker tripped, all power was lost. Is this a normal condition?
Thanks.
stevetull
OutBack Expert
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:40 am
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 MX60, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
18 Kyocera KC-175GT facing south at 30 degrees
12 Astronergy CHSM6610P-270 facing southwest @ 10 degrees
Total of ~6.4Kw.
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
eu2000i
OpticsRE site: Home

Re: Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

Postby Kent Osterberg on Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:08 pm

If the master is heavily loaded and relying on the slave to deliver more than 25 amps, the x240 breaker trips, then the master is overloaded and shuts down, and lastly the slave shuts down because the master is off.

Were there error conditions? A red light for the inverter status. Did you look at the errors menu?
Kent Osterberg
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 11:01 pm
Location: Cove, Oregon
My RE system: SMA Sunny Boy 2500 with eight Mobil Solar Ra 180 modules

Re: Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

Postby stevetull on Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:48 am

I see. I've rearranged the loads so that they're more balanced between the two hot legs. I haven't had another tripped breaker. I checked for errors and yes, the master reported 13 and the slave 10. All the other ports report zero, which is odd since I thought that if the mate finds no component then it will report one error. Do you have any idea why that is?

Thank you so much for your help.

Steve
stevetull
OutBack Expert
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:40 am
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 MX60, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
18 Kyocera KC-175GT facing south at 30 degrees
12 Astronergy CHSM6610P-270 facing southwest @ 10 degrees
Total of ~6.4Kw.
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
eu2000i
OpticsRE site: Home

Re: Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

Postby Kent Osterberg on Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:50 pm

I think you were looking at the list of comm errors.

When the inverter has a flashing or solid red status light, you want to look at the Mate menu: Status/FX/Error or Status/FX/Warning. Scroll down the list to see which errors or warnings say yes. Use the port button to get the errors or warnings for additional inverters. Write down every error or warning before turning the dc power off.
Kent Osterberg
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 11:01 pm
Location: Cove, Oregon
My RE system: SMA Sunny Boy 2500 with eight Mobil Solar Ra 180 modules

Re: Should all AC output cease if X240 breaker kicks?

Postby stevetull on Mon Apr 20, 2015 4:50 pm

Yes right of course. So I did check just now, but I had turned off the DC power after the problem had manifested. No errors or warnings show now.
Thank you Kent.

Steve
stevetull
OutBack Expert
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 7:40 am
Location: Near Bastrop Texas
My RE system: FlexPower Two:
2 VFX3648, X240, 2 MX60, Mate 3s, FnDC, Hub 10
18 Kyocera KC-175GT facing south at 30 degrees
12 Astronergy CHSM6610P-270 facing southwest @ 10 degrees
Total of ~6.4Kw.
16 Fullriver AGM DC400-6 = 830Ah @ 48v
eu2000i
OpticsRE site: Home


Return to FLEXware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest