How do I add another string?

A place to post images of your OutBack Power System

Moderators: OutBack Moderator Team, OutBack

How do I add another string?

Postby mhoybook on Wed May 17, 2017 8:15 am

I currently have an off grid system using 2 12 panel arrays providing up to 6140 watts, 2 FM 80 charge controllers, one GSLC175PV load center and a GS8048 invertor. My only issue is that this is just not quite enough solar input to charge my 48 volt 1500 amp hour battery bank while I run a house at the same time. I would like to add one more 12 panel array and one more FM 80 charge controller but my question is how do I connect this to the load center. The load center seems to be designed for only 2 charge controller inputs. Surely I don't need another load center to do this?
mhoybook
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:56 am
My RE system: Radian GS8048A, GSLC 175-PV-120/240, 2 FlexMax 80's, Mate3, FlexNetDC

Re: How do I add another string?

Postby Mike Curran on Wed May 17, 2017 12:22 pm

For sure you'll need another 80 amp breaker between your FM80 and your battery, and another breaker(s) (sized appropriately for the new array's short circuit current) between your new array and the new FM80. If your current load center doesn't have spaces for these additional breakers then you'll have to figure out a way to work around it. Perhaps a separate enclosure for the added breakers?
Mike Curran
OutBack Guru
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
My RE system: Outback: 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one MX60, 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80, 2 grid-tied GVFX3524's classic stacked for 120/240VAC, 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah, Hub10.3, Mate3, FNDC, RTS, OpticsRE. Tigo Energy ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar: 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters. 6,450 nameplate watts AC, grid-tied.

Re: How do I add another string?

Postby mhoybook on Wed May 17, 2017 4:20 pm

Mike Curran wrote:For sure you'll need another 80 amp breaker between your FM80 and your battery, and another breaker(s) (sized appropriately for the new array's short circuit current) between your new array and the new FM80. If your current load center doesn't have spaces for these additional breakers then you'll have to figure out a way to work around it. Perhaps a separate enclosure for the added breakers?


Thanks, but I'm hoping there's a way to add it into the load center using one of the included shunts so I can monitor it with my Mate3 like my other panels?
mhoybook
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:56 am
My RE system: Radian GS8048A, GSLC 175-PV-120/240, 2 FlexMax 80's, Mate3, FlexNetDC

Re: How do I add another string?

Postby blackswan555 on Wed May 17, 2017 9:06 pm

as Mike said
Perhaps a separate enclosure for the added breakers?
on the side of what you have now, You can still run the cables inside to the shunt/ busbar,

Tim
My comments are based on my experience and research, They are not endorsed or checked by Outback.I am an independent British electrician living in Spain, So please take this into account when reading /acting on my post`s.
blackswan555
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 2396
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:50 am
Location: Ibiza Spain,
My RE system: Other peoples, VFX "E" versions, FLA`s, Generators.


Return to My OutBack Power System

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest