32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Discussion about OutBack Inverters in Marine Applications

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby wild01 on Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:05 pm

does anyone know if outback's 32 volt inverter's battery charger can be set up to charge @ 36 volts and kick off before it destroys a 36 volt battery?

(i see it can take the imput [28.0 to 45.3 VDC] I just want it set up to kick off b4 it drains the battery to the point of no return and be able to use the battery charger)
wild01
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:39 pm
My RE system: 1500watts of solar prosine 2.5 flexmax 80 5000ah forklift battery

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby blackswan555 on Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:53 am

Outback do not do a 36v inverter, !2v, 24v & 48v,

Have a good one
Tim
My comments are based on my experience and research, They are not endorsed or checked by Outback.I am an independent British electrician living in Spain, So please take this into account when reading /acting on my post`s.
blackswan555
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:50 am
Location: Ibiza Spain,
My RE system: Other peoples, VFX "E" versions, FLA`s, Generators.

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby wild01 on Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:04 pm

they also have 2 different 32 volt power inverters. my question is pertaining to these inverters.
wild01
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:39 pm
My RE system: 1500watts of solar prosine 2.5 flexmax 80 5000ah forklift battery

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby tallgirl on Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:24 am

wild01 wrote:they also have 2 different 32 volt power inverters. my question is pertaining to these inverters.


Part numbers? Because I've never seen an Outback 32 or 36 volt inverter either.
Julie in Texas

greenMonitor(tm) for OutBack Power Technologies systems from greenHouse Gas and Electric. Learn more now!
User avatar
tallgirl
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 4329
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:59 am
Location: Austin, TX
My RE system: 16 Kyocera KC175GT (2,800 watts DC), MX-60, 2 OutBack GVFX3648, 24 GC2 batteries (6v @ 215AH), 14 Pantheon-based ACPV modules (3,200 watts DC), La Crosse Technologies WS2310 Weather Station, greenLogger Sensors environmental monitor, WattNode watt-hour meter, greenLogger Lite data logger.

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby GreenerPower on Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:07 am

I saw you post same question on NAWS board.
I was surprised myself that a 32V models exist - VFX2532MT and VFX3232M with the DC input range from 28V to 45.3V.
I would think that you can adjust the charging parameters - absorb, float, EQ for your 36V battery bank and the battery low cut off voltage (via Mate) to match your 36V system. However, you need to confirm this with OB that the setting range allowed via the Mate for these are possible to support your 36V system.
GP
Be greener and may the force be with you
User avatar
GreenerPower
OutBack Guru
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:22 am
Location: Texas

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby Kent Osterberg on Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:48 am

I don't see the manual for the 32 volt inverters on line. But judging by the maximum input voltage of 45.3 volts, these inverters probably aren't a good choice for a 36-volt system. The equalizing voltage for a 36-volt battery system would be around 46.5 volts, too high for an inverter with a maximum input of 45.3 volts.
Kent Osterberg
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 1494
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 11:01 pm
Location: Cove, Oregon
My RE system: SMA Sunny Boy 2500 with eight Mobil Solar Ra 180 modules

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby mvrck on Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:34 pm

I don't know yet if I can actually get one, but my Outback list shows a FX2536MT and a VFX3236M.

I wonder if I can get one through my supply chain?
Maverick
 
¤ Off-Grid Renewable Energy Specialist
My Outback: 3kW PV STC + MX60s + GVFX3524 + PS2 Combo = Helping Myself to the Sun!
User avatar
mvrck
OutBack Czar
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:03 am
Location: Austin, Texas
My RE system: 3.1 kW (BP 60W) on 2x MX60s
560W (Kaneka 60W) on 1 Classic 150
1080W (Day4) on 1 Tristar MPPT 60
GVFX3524 + PS2AC/DC, MATE, HUB4, Charles 24V 30A Charger, Generac S4001, Trimetric 2020, WattPlot, greenMonitor Lite, 400AH Bank (4 ea Rolls Surrette S530 Batteries), and a lot of other solar refuse...

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby intellact on Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:46 am

blackswan555 wrote:Outback do not do a 36v inverter, 12v, 24v & 48v

You can't always go by what is listed in certain product catalogs. :wink: I do have users on 32V systems. As WattPlot users continue to pop up around the world (now on all 7 continents \:D/ ), I have also learned of models not documented anywhere else, such as a special 'J' series for Caribbean voltages (added in version 4.5 of WattPlot).

It is nice to see products with truly international scope, and I hope OutBack's economic recovery is a speedy one. :smile:
Andrew Welch, creator of WattPlot
User avatar
intellact
OutBack Czar
 
Posts: 641
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 4:20 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby blackswan555 on Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:52 am

You learn something every day on this forum :grin:

Have a good one
Tim
My comments are based on my experience and research, They are not endorsed or checked by Outback.I am an independent British electrician living in Spain, So please take this into account when reading /acting on my post`s.
blackswan555
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:50 am
Location: Ibiza Spain,
My RE system: Other peoples, VFX "E" versions, FLA`s, Generators.

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby SHerrera on Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:43 am

We have 2 32V inverters:
FX2532MT
VFX3232M

The battery charging program:
Abs 38V
Float 35.9V

Using the MATE you can change this numbers:
Abs from 34.5V to 42.2V
Float from 31.7V to 39.6V
SHerrera
 

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby wild01 on Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:42 pm

SHerrera wrote:We have 2 32V inverters:
FX2532MT
VFX3232M

The battery charging program:
Abs 38V
Float 35.9V

Using the MATE you can change this numbers:
Abs from 34.5V to 42.2V
Float from 31.7V to 39.6V


ok so would those settings let me charge a 18-100-27 forklift battery? (36 volt 1300 ah 6hour rate flat plate flooded-gnb) also when my flexmax eq's the battery will the inverter alarm for over voltage? and or will it damage the inverter???


these are the only numbers I could find online
Absorption Voltage: 44.1 V
Equalization Voltage: 48 V
Float Voltage: 39.6 V

if these numbers are correct looks like I'm sol
wild01
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:39 pm
My RE system: 1500watts of solar prosine 2.5 flexmax 80 5000ah forklift battery

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby Kent Osterberg on Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:55 pm

Can't do. The charging voltage from the inverters is too low.
Kent Osterberg
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 1494
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 11:01 pm
Location: Cove, Oregon
My RE system: SMA Sunny Boy 2500 with eight Mobil Solar Ra 180 modules

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby tallgirl on Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:52 am

Kent Osterberg wrote:Can't do. The charging voltage from the inverters is too low.


... and even with an external charger, the required charging voltages are too high for the inverter to be operational.

So, yes -- SOL.
Julie in Texas

greenMonitor(tm) for OutBack Power Technologies systems from greenHouse Gas and Electric. Learn more now!
User avatar
tallgirl
OutBack Emperor
 
Posts: 4329
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:59 am
Location: Austin, TX
My RE system: 16 Kyocera KC175GT (2,800 watts DC), MX-60, 2 OutBack GVFX3648, 24 GC2 batteries (6v @ 215AH), 14 Pantheon-based ACPV modules (3,200 watts DC), La Crosse Technologies WS2310 Weather Station, greenLogger Sensors environmental monitor, WattNode watt-hour meter, greenLogger Lite data logger.

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby SteveHiggins on Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:16 pm

Why not get the 36 volt inverter? We do make 36 volt inverter for the US market also. Specfically for the forklift batteries.

The 32V inverters were manufactured as a way to take away some of the Marine business that uses 32 V Systems.
Steve Higgins
Technical Services Director- Surrette Battery Company

\
SteveHiggins
OutBack Czar
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:43 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby GreenerPower on Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:15 am

SteveHiggins wrote:Why not get the 36 volt inverter? We do make 36 volt inverter for the US market also. Specfically for the forklift batteries.

Wow ! So the models FX2536MT and a VFX3236M Maverick posted exist. Couldn't find the product specs on the main site ?

GP
Be greener and may the force be with you
User avatar
GreenerPower
OutBack Guru
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:22 am
Location: Texas

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby wild01 on Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:32 pm

sweet, I totally missed that you had a 36 volt inverter, you hide them well ](*,) maverick if you can get one of these email me a quote and I'll get back to you if I can budget it. just use my user name here @ gmail.com
wild01
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:39 pm
My RE system: 1500watts of solar prosine 2.5 flexmax 80 5000ah forklift battery

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby wild01 on Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:17 pm

ok so maverick hasn't responded to my email replies (spam filter possibly?) so can anyone get me a price on either or both of those inverters??? I've got 1500 watts of solar panels still sitting in a crate because I either have to upgrade my inverter or buy 2 more charge controllers to put them on my system!
wild01
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:39 pm
My RE system: 1500watts of solar prosine 2.5 flexmax 80 5000ah forklift battery

Re: 32 volt inverter run on 36 volt

Postby Justme on Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:09 am

wild01 wrote:ok so would those settings let me charge a 18-100-27 forklift battery? (36 volt 1300 ah 6hour rate flat plate flooded-gnb) also when my flexmax eq's the battery will the inverter alarm for over voltage? and or will it damage the inverter???



If you have the inverter already then the easiest solution would be to remove 1 or 2 cells from the forklift battery bank to reduce its voltage to match the inverters. Then reprogram the FM to suit the lower volatges. Ok that will reduce your total storage capacity by nearly 10% (so 5% use able loss)
Justme
OutBack Guru
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 2:55 pm
My RE system: 15 x 80 watt panels (1200w)
1 x FX80 controller
6 x 2v cells 1550ah @ 5c
1 x 200watt wind turbine
3000w 120amp 12v inverter charger


Return to Marine Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest