FXR2524A-01 utility+gen autostart question

Discussion about OutBack Inverters in Backup Applications

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
mikedowdell
Forum Whiz
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:04 am
My RE system: Outback FXR2524A-01, FlexMax FM80, Mate3s, Power Hub 4
9x Solar World 250w panels on a 2 axis solar tracker
4x 6v 220ah Trojan Batteries
Hybrid Off Grid with AC as backup
Location: San Diego, CA

FXR2524A-01 utility+gen autostart question

Post by mikedowdell » Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:20 pm

I'm looking to incorporate a small generator into my existing FXR2524A-01 setup which is connected to utility power as its current backup (rainy days etc). My gen is an electric start however I will need an inexpensive control module to make it 2 wire capable. I've been looking at various automatic transfer switches to switch from Utility to Generator power and back as the single input to my FXR2524, but have come to the conclusion that I'm not going to be able to leverage any of the FXR2524's generator capabilities, since it will have no way of knowing if I'm on Utility or Generator power. This would obviously be the same in OpticsRE. Is there some solution I am overlooking to let the Inverter know which source it is accepting?

hydrotruth
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 1:58 am

Re: FXR2524A-01 utility+gen autostart question

Post by hydrotruth » Fri Feb 15, 2019 2:03 am

Hello Mike,
I am new to the forum and happened to stumble across your question.
I may be able to assist you with your dilemma.
You can view our products here www.dcautogen.com
We have smart automatic generator controllers.
It can be customized to suit you needs.
Hope this helps :)

raysun
Forum Czar
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 am
My RE system: Flexpower One: FX3048T, (2) FM80, MATE3s, FlexNetDC
Outback 200NC batteries (8 @ 48v)
Outback IBR3 battery enclosure
Suniva 330 watt panels (12 - 6 Strings @ 2 Series)
Hyundai 355 watt panels (6 - 3 strings @ 2 series)

Re: FXR2524A-01 utility+gen autostart question

Post by raysun » Fri Feb 15, 2019 9:29 am

The single AC IN will require an external transfer switch to select between the AC sources.

OpticsRE has a selector switch for choosing input between Grid and Gen, with each input having it's own set of parameters.

The selector can be found on the AC Input tab of the Inverter in the System components page.

Screen shot from my system:
Attachments
20190215_062444.jpg

jbakker
Forum Guru
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:47 am
My RE system: 2 VFX3648 Inverters 2 FM60 150VDC Charge Controllers Mate3 3.4 KW of panels 15kw JC Onan NG Generator made in 1975 I love that generator almost as much as my wife.
7 banks of 14 cells each from a 2017 Chevy Volt. Parallel for the AMP Hour. 7 Chinese made BMS systems.
Location: Goderich Ontario Canada

Re: FXR2524A-01 utility+gen autostart question

Post by jbakker » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:44 pm

I use a manual Transfer switch to change from grid to generator.
There is not way for the inverter you have to know if its grid or generator. It only has 1 AC input. It will see AC from grid or generator and not know the difference.
So no way to automaticaly tell the inverter what the AC source is.

This the only thing I dont like about the inverters I have.

Post Reply