Flex ware 250 GVFX 3648 Question

Discussion about OutBack Inverters in Grid Tie Applications

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
HondaLee
Forum Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:16 am
My RE system: FLEXmax 500
Vfx3648
FLEXmax 80
Flex ware Gvx3648

Flex ware 250 GVFX 3648 Question

Post by HondaLee » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:49 pm

I have a wiring question on the flex ware 250 with the GVFX3648 inverter.
Diagram shows (power in )coming from grid then shows power out going to load panel my question is how dose it feed back to grid?
IÔÇÖm getting my grid power for (power in)from my main house breaker panel All of my loads are on that same house panel. What IÔÇÖm wanting to do is feed power back to grid with this unit.
Dose it feed the grid with (power out) from inverter and (power in) circuit come form Opposite leg?
Help please if you know

User avatar
Jorge Guzman
Strategic Platforms
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 9:44 am
My RE system: VFXR3524A, FM80, MATE3. 3x 260W REC. 4x Trojan L16 FLA 370Ah.
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: Flex ware 250 GVFX 3648 Question

Post by Jorge Guzman » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:16 pm

Hi,

The GVFX will offset your loads connected to the AC output of the inverter, if renewable power is still available it will send the reminder to the AC input feeding your Main panel.

Here is a quick video describing how the power flow works: https://youtu.be/ssMhDa6tdu4

-Jorge
Jorge Guzman
Sr. Strategic Platforms Analyst


Watch easy to follow video tutorials:
https://www.youtube.com/c/wattschool

HondaLee
Forum Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:16 am
My RE system: FLEXmax 500
Vfx3648
FLEXmax 80
Flex ware Gvx3648

Re: Flex ware 250 GVFX 3648 Question

Post by HondaLee » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:59 pm

Jorge Guzman wrote:Hi,

The GVFX will offset your loads connected to the AC output of the inverter, if renewable power is still available it will send the reminder to the AC input feeding your Main panel.

Here is a quick video describing how the power flow works: https://youtu.be/ssMhDa6tdu4

-Jorge
Question: if I wire from my grid tied 200 amp home panel a single pole 60amp breaker and run circuit to AC input and nothing wired to AC output all solar would back feed on the AC input circuit into grid?

Mike Curran
Forum Emperor
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
My RE system: Outback - Garage roof:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one FM80 (2007/2020 repl'd MX60)
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80 (2017)
- 2 grid-tied GVFX3524's classic stacked for 120/240VAC (2007)
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah (2007)
- Hub10.3, Mate3s, FNDC, RTS, OpticsRE. Tigo Energy ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar - Barn roof: (2012)
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied, no longer AC- coupled

Outback Skybox - Barn roof: (2019)
- 14 (2x7) Talesun 275W (DC array input to SB charger)
- 3 SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries, 48V, 225Ah total
- AC coupled input from 14 Talesun 275W, Enphase M215 modules

All self-designed and self-installed
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Re: Flex ware 250 GVFX 3648 Question

Post by Mike Curran » Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:31 am

If your battery is fully charged then yes, all solar (less efficiency losses in the conversion process - solar->battery/inverter->AC in) would feed back to grid. It would be just like having AC loads wired to the output with none of them turned on.
http://www.tigoenergy.com/site.php?95b2dca2-ca6c
https://enlighten.enphaseenergy.com/public/systems/Hctc107221

User avatar
Jorge Guzman
Strategic Platforms
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 9:44 am
My RE system: VFXR3524A, FM80, MATE3. 3x 260W REC. 4x Trojan L16 FLA 370Ah.
Location: Arlington, WA

Re: Flex ware 250 GVFX 3648 Question

Post by Jorge Guzman » Mon Jan 07, 2019 1:27 pm

HondaLee wrote:Question: if I wire from my grid tied 200 amp home panel a single pole 60amp breaker and run circuit to AC input and nothing wired to AC output all solar would back feed on the AC input circuit into grid?
As Mike mentioned this is correct. One thing to consider is when not having any loads connected into the AC Out of the Inverter you defeat the purpose of having a backup in case of a grid outage.
Jorge Guzman
Sr. Strategic Platforms Analyst


Watch easy to follow video tutorials:
https://www.youtube.com/c/wattschool

Post Reply