Voltage spike ?

General Talk

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
wpmaura
Forum Whiz
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:25 pm
My RE system: flex power one 3kw. 16 x 6v 415ah Rolls, 15x 270watt 30V 9amp panels

Voltage spike ?

Post by wpmaura » Fri Sep 04, 2020 12:16 pm

I have a flex powe one. I am toying with connecting it to main power so I can run ac at night. But we are prone low voltage and power spikes alot. Will this damage outback equipment?

Mike Curran
Forum Emperor
Posts: 1803
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
My RE system: Outback - Garage roof:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one FM80 (2007/2020 - replaced MX60)
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80 (2017)
- 2 grid-tied GVFX3524's classic stacked for 120/240VAC (2007)
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah (2007)
- Hub10.3, Mate3s, FNDC, RTS, OpticsRE. Tigo Energy ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar - Barn roof: (2012)
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied

Outback Skybox - Barn roof: (2019)
- 14 Talesun 275W in series (DC array input to SB inverter/charger)
- 3 SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries, 48V, 225Ah total
- AC coupled input (manual switch during grid outage only) from 14 Talesun 275W,
Enphase M215 microinverters, normally direct grid tied

All self-designed and self-installed
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Re: Voltage spike ?

Post by Mike Curran » Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:00 pm

Your inverter will pass thru whatever AC waveform it sees to your loads, so any problems will more likely be with your appliances rather than with your Outback equipment. Note you should be able to program your inverter to reject both low and high, AC in voltage. Here's how mine is set up:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mi75VB ... p=drivesdk

Note: Ignore the yellow highlighting, it was done for another unrelated post.
http://www.tigoenergy.com/site.php?95b2dca2-ca6c
https://enlighten.enphaseenergy.com/public/systems/Hctc107221

Post Reply